Translator Disclaimer
May, 1992 Readers' Comments to the New Researchers' Committee Report
Judith Sunley, N. Altman, J. F. Angers, D. Banks, D. Duffy, J. Hardwick, C. Leger, M. Martin, D. Nolan, A. Owen, D. Politis, Peter Arzberger, K. Roeder, T. N. Sriram, T. Stukel, Z. Ying, Keith Crank, Nell Sedransk, James R. Maar, Michael R. Chernick, Cindy L. Christiansen, Agnes M. Herzberg, R. L. Tweedie
Statist. Sci. 7(2): 256-266 (May, 1992). DOI: 10.1214/ss/1177011365


When the report by the New Researchers' Committee (NRC) of the IMS was published in Statistical Science (6 163-174), readers were invited to provide additional comments. We publish here commentaries by four individuals and also two invited discussions about programs at the National Science Foundation and the National Security Agency designed to benefit new researchers (NR's). The original report by the New Researchers' Committee provides suggestions for NR's and covers the role of the IMS as an advocate for them. The new NRC, now chaired by Deborah Nolan, responds to these comments adding some new material. The NRC also recently has published the New Researcher's Survival Guide to help the professional development of NR's.


Download Citation

Judith Sunley. N. Altman. J. F. Angers. D. Banks. D. Duffy. J. Hardwick. C. Leger. M. Martin. D. Nolan. A. Owen. D. Politis. Peter Arzberger. K. Roeder. T. N. Sriram. T. Stukel. Z. Ying. Keith Crank. Nell Sedransk. James R. Maar. Michael R. Chernick. Cindy L. Christiansen. Agnes M. Herzberg. R. L. Tweedie. "Readers' Comments to the New Researchers' Committee Report." Statist. Sci. 7 (2) 256 - 266, May, 1992.


Published: May, 1992
First available in Project Euclid: 19 April 2007

Digital Object Identifier: 10.1214/ss/1177011365

Rights: Copyright © 1992 Institute of Mathematical Statistics


Vol.7 • No. 2 • May, 1992
Back to Top