NOTES

A new organization, known as the American Documentation Institute, has been incorporated on behalf of leading national scholarly, scientific, and informational societies to develop and operate facilities that are expected to promote research and knowledge in various intellectual fields. A first objective will be to develop and apply the new technique of microphotography to library, scholarly, scientific, and other material. The board of trustees elected consists of: Dr. R. C. Binkley, Western Reserve University; Dr. S. J. Buck, Director of Publications, National Archives; Watson Davis, Director, Science Service; Dr. J. T. Gerould, Librarian, Princeton University Library; Dr. Ludvig Hektoen, Chairman, National Research Council.

The Revista de Ciencias, official journal of the Faculty of Biological, Physical, and Mathematical Sciences of the University of San Marcos, Lima, invites American mathematicians to submit papers for publication.

The engineer N. Malaxa, of Bucharest, has presented a periodical award of 500 lei for the mathematical and physical sciences. The prize will be awarded by an international committee with headquarters at the N. Malaxa Institute in the science department of the University of Bucharest. The award will be made for the first time in June, 1938, and will be given to the young scientist who, in the opinion of the committee, has made the most important contribution to the problem of the resolution of equations in the period from January 1, 1934 to January 1, 1938.

The Royal Society of Edinburgh has awarded the Gunning Victoria Jubilee Prize for the period 1932–36 to Professor C. J. Darwin, master of Christ's College, Cambridge, formerly Tait professor of natural philosophy in the University of Edinburgh, for his "distinguished contributions in mathematical physics."

Professor John von Neumann, of the Institute for Advanced Study, has been elected to membership in the National Academy of Sciences, and Professor Oswald Veblen, also of the Institute for Advanced Study, has been elected a member of the council.

Dr. M. M. Slotnick, of the Humble Oil and Refining Company, Houston, Texas, has been elected Editor of Geophysics, the journal of the Society of Exploration Geophysicists.

Dr. Witwold Hurewicz, of Amsterdam, has been appointed professor of mathematics at the National University of Peking, Peiping, China.

Dr. Rudolph Peierls, at present assistant-in-research at the Mond Laboratory of the Royal Society at Cambridge, has been appointed to the newly established chair of applied mathematics at the University of Birmingham. Assistant Professor A. A. Albert, of the University of Chicago, has been promoted to an associate professorship.

Dr. D. B. Ames, of the Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, has been promoted to an assistant professorship.

Dr. Max Astrachan, of Antioch College, has been promoted to an assistant professorship.

Professor L. C. Bagby, of the Linsley Institute of Technology, Wheeling, W. Va., has been appointed Dean of the College of Engineering.

Dr. Samuel Borofsky, of Brooklyn College, has been promoted to an assistant professorship.

At the University of Cincinnati, the mathematics departments of the College of Liberal Arts and the College of Engineering have been combined. Professor Louis Brand, formerly head of the mathematics department in the College of Engineering, has been made head of the combined department.

Dr. R. H. Cameron, of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, has been promoted to an assistant professorship.

Associate Professor L. P. Copeland, of Wellesley College, has been promoted to a professorship.

Professor H, T. Davis, of Indiana University, has been appointed to a professorship of mathematical statistics at Northwestern University.

Assistant Professor J. E. Davis, of Central Y. M. C. A. College, Chicago, has been promoted to an associate professorship.

Associate Professor J. H. Fithian, of Newark College of Engineering, has been promoted to a professorship.

Dr. B. C. Getchell, of Butler University, has been promoted to an assistant professorship.

Professor Harris Hancock, of the University of Cincinnati, has retired with the title professor emeritus.

Professor G. A. Harter, of the University of Delaware, has retired with the title professor emeritus.

Dr. M. A. Heaslet, of San Jose State College, San Jose, Calif., has been promoted to an assistant professorship.

Dr. M. R. Hestenes, of the University of California at Los Angeles, has been appointed to an assistant professorship at the University of Chicago.

Professor Alfred Hume, of the University of Mississippi, has retired with the title professor emeritus.

Dr. Ralph Huston, of Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, has been promoted to an assistant professorship.

Dr. H. D. Larsen, of the University of New Mexico, has been promoted to an assistant professorship.

Dr. D. H. Lehmer, of Lehigh University, has been promoted to an assistant professorship.

Professor D. N. Lehmer, of the University of California, has retired.

Assistant Professor A. M. M. Lehr, of Bryn Mawr College, has been promoted to an associate professorship.

Associate Professor F. A. Lewis, of the University of Alabama, has been promoted to a professorship.

Professor W. R. Longley, of Yale University, has been appointed acting dean of freshmen.

Professor C. N. Moore, of the University of Cincinnati, has been made director of graduate studies in mathematics.

Professor C. A. Noble, of the University of California, has retired.

Assistant Professor C. O. Oakley, of Haverford College, has been promoted to an associate professorship.

Dr. W. T. Reid, of the University of Chicago, has been promoted to an assistant professorship.

Dr. Otto Szász has been appointed research lecturer in mathematics at the University of Cincinnati.

Assistant Professor H. S. Thurston, of the University of Alabama, has been promoted to an associate professorship.

Associate Professor H. S. Uhler, of Yale University, has been promoted to a professorship.

Assistant Professor Henry Van Engen, of Kansas State College, has been appointed head of the department of mathematics at Iowa State Teachers College, Cedar Falls.

Professor W. M. Whyburn, of the University of California at Los Angeles, has been appointed acting chairman of the department of mathematics to succeed Dr. E. R. Hedrick.

Assistant Professor H. N. Wright, of the College of the City of New York, has been promoted to an associate professorship.

The following appointments to instructorships are announced: University of Chicago: Dr. Saunders MacLane; Cornell University: Dr. J. W. Givens; New York University: Dr. J. C. C. McKinsey; Rutgers University: Dr. M. S. Robertson; University of Saskatchewan: Miss V. A. Ames; Spring Hill College, Spring Hill, Ala.: Rev. E. H. Larguier, S.J.; Yale University: Dr. Marshall Hall. Mr. R. B. S. N. Ayyar, retired chief accountant of the Madras Port Trust, died January 17, 1937 at the age of sixty-one years. He was a foundation member of the Indian Mathematical Society.

Dr. S. F. Grace, senior lecturer in applied mathematics at the University of Liverpool and author of works on hydrodynamics and tides, died April 30, 1937 at the age of forty-one years.

Dr. Erich Trefftz, editor of the Zeitschrift für angewandte Mathematik und Mechanik, died on January 21, 1937.

President H. Y. Benedict, of the University of Texas, died suddenly on May 10, 1937 in his sixty-eighth year. He had been a member of the Society since 1901.

Professor W. I. Foster, of Northern Montana College, Havre, Mont., died on January 1, 1937.

Professor H. E. Slaught, since 1931 emeritus professor of mathematics at the University of Chicago, died on May 21, 1937 at the age of seventy-six years. He had been a member of the Society since 1899.

Dr. A. P. Wills, professor of mathematical physics at Columbia since 1909, died April 18, 1937 in St. Augustine, Fla. He was sixty-four years old.