Introduction to the Fiftieth Anniversary Issues

With the publication of this issue, the *Notre Dame Journal of Formal Logic* (NDJFL) begins its fifty-first year of publication. Throughout this time, the editors of the NDJFL have sought to serve those working in the fields of logic and the foundations of mathematics by publishing high quality research in all their subareas, including work of a more mathematical and work of a more philosophical nature. Whatever success we have had in meeting this goal is due primarily to the support of you—our authors, our referees, and our readers. We therefore take this opportunity to express both our sincere thanks for your past support and our hope for a continued productive partnership with you in the future.

The NDJFL was founded in 1959 by the Department of Philosophy at the University of Notre Dame and began publication in 1960 under its founding editor, Boleslaw Sobociński (1906–1980). Professor Sobociński served as editor until 1979. In 1969 he appointed J. T. Canty as the first managing editor, and in the 1970s he appointed first Ms. Ann Lauer and later Ms. Michele Daugherty as business/office managers. He also assembled an editorial board in 1970 which, with a few changes, continued for the duration of his editorship. Those who served on these boards were the following:

Ignacio Angelelli	Robert Bull	Jean E. Rubin
F. Gonzalez Asenjo	John Thomas Canty	Luis Elpidio Sanchis
Nuel D. Belnap	George Goe	Wilson E. Singletary
Ivan Boh	Hugues Leblanc	Vito F. Sinisi
William W. Boone	Gerald Massey	Ivo Thomas
Karel L. de Bouvère	Elliott Mendelson	J. Jay Zeman
	Marian B. Pour-El	

In 1979, Professor V. Frederick Rickey took over editorship of the *Journal* and remained as editor through 1980. In 1981 the editorship of the *Journal* was restructured and was guided by a group that included editors Ernest Lepore, Penelope Maddy, and Mark Nadel and consulting editors Elliot Mendelson, V. Frederick Rickey, and Paul Young. This group directed the *Journal* from 1981 through 1984 (Volumes 22 through 25). In 1985, the editorial group was expanded to include Kit Fine, Howard

2 Introduction

Wettstein, and myself. Shortly thereafter, John Burgess, Anand Pillay, and W. W. Tait were added as editors, and Jan Houseman became our business manager.

In the early 1990s, I asked my then colleague Anand Pillay in the Department of Mathematics to join me as coeditor. Happily he agreed and continued in that role until 1999. When Anand decided to step down as coeditor, I asked Peter Cholak of the Department of Mathematics to take his place. He kindly agreed and he remains as coeditor today.

During Anand's tenure, we named a new editorial board to which Peter and I further added members. We are very grateful to all who have served on these boards:

Peter Aczel
G. Aldo Antonelli
Jeremy Avigad
John Baldwin
Patrick Blackburn
Patricia Blanchette
John P. Burgess
Sam Buss
Peter Clote
Kosta Došen
Melvin Fitting
Matthew Foreman
Robert Goldblatt

Warren Goldfarb
Marcia Groszek
Joel David Hamkins
H. Jerome Keisler
Ulrich Kohlenbach
Jan Krajíček
Michael J. Kremer
Penelope Maddy
David E. Marker
Timothy McCarthy
D. Charles McCarty
Vann McGee
Colin McLarty
Elliott Mendelson

Lawrence S. Moss
Mark E. Nadel
Anand Pillay
Greg Restall
V. Frederick Rickey
Peter Schroeder-Heister
Stewart Shapiro
Sergei Starchenko
W. W. Tait
Jouko Väänänen
Albert Visser
Paul Young
Timothy Williamson

In 1994, Martha Kummerer joined the *Journal* as production editor and business manager and she continues in these roles today. At that time, we began our own LATEX typesetting in house. This was largely due to the excellent work of Michael Byron, then our compositor and editorial assistant, who wrote our first LATEX style file. Michael, together with Martha, sought out and acquired the resources that helped in our early efforts to take over our own typesetting. Martha continues our technical and typesetting work to the present.

In 2002 we contracted with Project Euclid to be our online distributor. We offer our sincerest thanks to Jennifer Younger, Sarah Thomas, Zsuzsa Koltay, and Terry Ehling for their wise advice and assistance leading to our participation in Project Euclid. In addition, we are grateful to David Ruddy and his team at Cornell for technical assistance.

In 2005 we were contacted by Duke University Press and began a conversation which eventually led to a contract with them to become our publisher. That publishing partnership officially began with the publication of Volume 49 in 2008. We look forward to a continuing productive partnership with them as we end our first and begin our second fifty years of service to the international logic community.

Michael Detlefsen Peter Cholak Editors Notre Dame Journal of Formal Logic University of Notre Dame April 2010 Introduction 3