7th Real Analysis Exchange Conference Preliminary Announcement

The Real Analysis Exchange Conference #7 will be held at the University of California at Santa Barbara from Tuesday noon, March 20 to Friday, March 24. Extra informal sessions can be scheduled on Saturday and a banquet will be held on Friday evening.

<u>Call for Papers</u> : If you would like to present a talk, please send the title to the address below.

Both Motel 6 and Hollister Inn are within walking distance of many restaurants and a bus stop to UCSB. The Faculty Club is on campus and the number and variety of accessible restaurants is more limited. Other more luxurious lodging is available in Santa Barbara but is not so convenient with respect to transportation and/or restaurants.

Please specify the accommodation you desire as soon as possible.

Other Information : Hopefully we will have funds to defray some of the participants' room and board expenses.

For later announcements or for more information write to :

Jack Ceder Mathematics Department University of California at Santa Barbara Santa Barbara, CA 93106

9

FIRST ANNOUNCEMENT

THE EIGHTH SYMPOSIUM ON REAL ANALYSIS

will be held at

ST. OLAF COLLEGE

on

JULY 25 - 29, 1984

The following speakers have been invited to present one hour talks:

R. DAVIES (LEICESTER)
Z. GRANDE (BYDGOSZCZ)
P. MATTILA (HELSINKI)
D. PREISS (PRAGUE)

There will also be 30 minute sessions for contributed papers. Those who wish to be kept informed about the symposium and/or plan to attend should contact:

Ted Vessey, Chairman Department of Mathematics St. Olaf College Northfield, MN 55057



PARTICIPANTS: Real Analysis Symposium, Waterloo, Ontario, Canada, June 1983

From left to right: 1st row: J. Mařík, R. O'Malley, A. Bruckner. 2nd row: T. Nishiura H. Fast, D. Waterman, L. Larson, G. Petruska, M. Evans, P. Humke. 3rd row: M. Laczkovich, J. Ceder, H. Henig, G. Cross, J. Brown. 4th row: M. Morayne, M. Schramm, K. Ostaszewski, I. Solomon S. Agronsky, D. Hancock, B. Thomson, R. Henstock. 5th row: R. Fleissner, J. Foran, M. Jodeit (?), M. Lee, K. Garg



this year's Andy award winner, Michael Jon Evans, receiving his prize from last year's laureate, Richard Fleissner.