No. 8] XXXV

PROCEEDINGS AT THE 842ND GENERAL MEETING

The 842nd General Meeting of the Academy was held on Friday, October 12, 1990, at 1:05 p.m., Dr. Yoshitaro WAKIMURA, President, taking the chair. Ninety-two members were present, and the following communications were made:

On Buddhist psychology Gadjin NAGAO, M. J. A. Structural impediments initiative —A view in comparative business history- Keiichiro NAKAGAWA, M. J. A. Transformation mechanism of olivine to modified spinel in Mg2SiO4 under stress Kiyoshi Fujino and Tetsuo Irifune Communicated by Syun-iti AKIMOTO, M. J. A. Identification of rat cDNA for the catalytic subunit of glycogen bound from PP-1 Hiroshi Shima, Kazunori SASAKI, Shozo Irino, Takashi Sugimura, M. J. A., and Minako NAGAO Double coverings of P² Hisao Yoshihara The topological invariant of three-manifolds based on the U (1) gauge q-analogue of de Rham cohomology associated with Jackson integrals. Yang-Mills connections on quaternionic Kähler quotients Above four, communicated by Kunihiko Kodaira, M. J. A. On the reduction of binary cubic forms with positive discriminants. Comparison principle for singular degenerate elliptic equations on unbounded domains Moto-Hiko Sato A remark on quaternion extensions of the rational p-adic field . . . The Aitken-Steffensen formula for systems of nonlinear equations. Above four, communicated by Shokichi IYANAGA, M. J. A.

After a recess during which the members present met in their respective Sections, the General Meeting was resumed for business transactions.

First, the President announced that Dr. Yoshitake OKA, M. J. A., had passed away on October 5, 1990. The members rose from their seats in silence, expressing profound sense of grief.

Next, Dr. Shokichi IYANAGA, M. J. A., and Dr. Takashi NAKADA, M. J. A., paid a tribute of admiration to the late Dr. Kôsaku Yosida's and the late Dr. Shinji Fukui's meritorious services to academic circles respectively.

Then, the Chairmen of both Sections made reports of the matters dealt with at the respective Sectional Meetings.

Finally, the President reported that the members of the Publication Committee for the coming term were elected at the Sectional Meetings. The members elected are:

XXXVI [Vol. 66(A),

Section I: Fumio Nakajima, Teiji Ichiko, Kisaburo Yokota, Masaakira Katsumoto, Tsunahiro Kikui, and Yuzo Yamada.

Section II: Shokichi IYANAGA, Takeo NAGAMIYA, Motoo KIMURA, Shunzo OKAMOTO, Naohide HIRATSUKA, Yasuji KATSUKI, and Setsuro EBASHI.

The Meeting adjourned at 5:10 p.m.

日本学士院紀要

平成二年十月 第六十六卷 A 第八号

平成二年十一月五日 印刷 平成二年十一月八日 発行

編集兼 発行者 東京都台東区上野公園七の三十二

印刷 所 株式 東 京 プ レ ス 東京都板橋区桜川二丁目二十七の十二

印刷者 依 田 高 夫 東京都板橋区桜川二丁目二十七の十二

Printed by

TOKYO PRESS COMPANY LIMITED

No. 27-12, Sakuragawa 2-chome, Itabashi-ku,
Tokyo 174 Japan

Tel.: (932) 9291~4