News and Announcements

Personalia

Association of Symbolic Logic election results. Yiannis N. MOSCHOVAKIS was elected president of the Association of Symbolic Logic, George S. BOOLOS was elected vice-president, James E. BAUM-GARTNER and Melvin C. FITTING were elected to the executive committee of the council, and Angus MACINTYRE and Petr HAJEK were elected to the council for terms beginning on 1 January 1992.

Louise Hay memorial funds. The Association for Women in Mathematics has established the Louise Hay Award in support of contributions to mathematics education. The fund was established in memory of Louise HAY (1935-1989), who died of cancer on 28 October 1989. To contribute to the fund or make nominations for the award, contact: The Hay Award Committee, Association for Women in Mathematics, Box 178, Wellesley College, Wellesley, MA 02181, USA. The Oak Park – River Forest High School in suburban Chicago has established the Louise Hay Memorial Scholarship Fund for its students. Contributions made to "OPRFHS Mathematics Scholar" can be sent to: Lois Goldstein, Mathematics Department, Oak Park - River Forest High School, 201 N. Scoville Avenue, Oak Park, IL 60302-2296, USA. She was best known to logicians for her work in recursion theory, especially for her work in classifying the index sets of finite classes of r.e. sets and on the difference hierarchy on r.e. sets, and for her later work in computer science, especially complexity theory.

Joseph Shoenfield retirement. A retirement banquest in honor of Joseph R. SHOENFIELD was held on Saturday evening, 21 March 1992 at the annual Association of Symbolic Logic meeting. Professor Shoenfield will deliver the Gödel Lecture on "The Priority Method" at the meeting. He is best known for his work in set theory and for his relative consistency proof of 1954. Previously, Ilse Novak and Mostowski had proven that, where C is an axiom system formalized within the first-order functional