## EDITORIAL MESSAGE

By Clifford E. Weil

Our "Special Subscriber's Fund" was begun two years ago and I am happy to announce that contributions of all sizes have been coming in at a steady rate. If you would like to contribute to this fund, you can do so when your next payment notice comes, or, if you wish to do so now, send your contribution in any amount by check made payable to "Real Analysis Exchange" and mail it to me. I wish to express my thanks to the following individuals who have contributed in the past year:

Rajan Anantharaman, I. A. Ault, Robert G. Bartle, Ralph P. Boas, George Brauer, Jack B. Brown, Andrew M. Bruckner, Peter Colwell, Charles Diminnie, David I. Epstein, Russell A. Gordon, Michael B. Gregory, Hernan R. Henriquez, Robert Huotari, Mark J. Johnson, Roy A. Johnson, Daniel C. Kemp, Ching-Ming Lee, John C. Morgan, Hwang-Wen Pu, Dorothy Rutledge, Anna Salvadori, Michael Schramm, Ray C. Shiflett, Rae Michael Shortt, Isaac H. Solomon, Alexia A. Sontag, Dean Spencer, Arthur and Dorothy Stone, Andrzej Szymanski, Tan Cao Tran, Claude Tricot, Charles T. Tucker, John T. Walsh, Garth W. Warner, and Felipe Zo.

There was a problem with the wrapping material used to mail the last issue of the *Real Analysis Exchange*. As a result many issues were lost. If you did not get your copy of Vol. 17, No. 1, please let me know and I will send you a replacement.

Once again I wish to express my gratitude to the Mathematics Department of Michigan State University for their support and in particular to our two technical typists, Tammy A. Hatfield and Catherine E. Friess, for typing many of the articles in the present volume. Their skill and cooperation have made my job easier.

There is a minor change in the structure of the Editoral Board. Beginning with the next issue, Professor Paul Humke will become the Inroads Editor. He will be responsible for processing all submissions to the Inroads section. Consequently all articles for the Inroads section should be sent to him.