Personalia AWARDS TO LOGICIANS

The 1991 Milestone Award for Automatic Theorem Proving (ATP) was presented to Woodrow W. BLEDSOE of the University of Texas at Austin at the annual meeting of the American Mathematical Society in San Francisco on January 18, 1991. Bledsoe has used several automated theorem provers, including STR+VE, which he developed with Larry Hines, for proving theorems in real analysis. STR+VE is an ATP program which is complete for first-order logic and which which attempts proofs in an extension of first-order logic which require binding of "set variables." In accepting his award, Bledsoe noted that his own research was dependent upon the work of such earlier logic researchers as Hao Wang, who won the first Milestone Award, Martin Davis, Hilary Putnam, Larry Wos, and J. Allen Robinson, who developed the resolution method based upon Gentzen sequents. He also noted that such logicians as Leibniz, Frege, Presburger and Herbrand laid the foundations for this work.

Robert S. Boyer of the University of Texas at Austin and J. Strother Moore of Computational Logic, Inc. of Austin, Texas shared the 1991 Current award for their work in developing a computer program for verifying proofs carried out by ATP programs. In his statement accepting the award, Boyer, whose teachers included set-theoretic topologist R.L. Moore, logicians Paul Lorenzen and Norman Martin, and philosophers John Silber and Thomas Gould, quoted Gödel's remark that "The development of mathematics toward greater precision has led, as is well known, to the formalization of large tracts of it, so that one can prove any theorem using nothing but a few mechanical rules. Among the proofs checked by their program was the Church-Rosser theorem of lambda calculus and Gödel's incompleteness theorem for computer science. Their proof checker and other aspects of their work may be found in their joint books Computational Logic (Academic Press, 1979) and A Computational Logic Handbook (Academic Press, 1988).

President George Bush awarded National Medals of Science to Stephen Cole KLEENE (University of Wisconsin), John MCCARTHY (Standford University) and Partick SUPPES (Stanford University) on 13 November 1990. Kleene was awarded the National Medal of Science Medal for his work in