## Vertex Representations for *N*-Toroidal Lie Algebras and a Generalization of the Virasoro Algebra

S. Eswara Rao<sup>1</sup>, R.V. Moody<sup>2\*</sup>

<sup>1</sup> School of Mathematics, Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Bombay 400 005, India
<sup>2</sup> Department of Mathematics, University of Alberta, Edmonton (Alberta) T6G 2G1, Canada

Received: 17 November 1992/in revised form: 4 May 1993

**Abstract:** Vertex representations are obtained for toroidal Lie algebras for any number of variables. These representations afford representations of certain *n*-variable generalizations of the Virasoro algebra that are abelian extensions of the Lie algebra of vector fields on a torus.

## **0.** Introduction

In this paper we construct faithful vertex operator representations for the universal central extension  $\tau_n$  of  $\mathfrak{g} \otimes \mathbb{C}[t_1^{\pm 1}, t_2^{\pm 1}, \ldots, t_n^{\pm 1}]$ , where  $\mathfrak{g}$  is a simple, simply-laced finite dimensional Lie algebra over  $\mathbb{C}$ . We call  $\tau_n$  the *n*-toroidal Lie algebra. These representations also afford representations for an abelian extension of the Lie algebra of derivations of  $\mathbb{C}[t_1^{\pm 1}, t_2^{\pm 1}, \ldots, t_n^{\pm 1}]$ . This latter Lie algebra is a generalization of the Virasoro algebra, and so this whole construction is a generalization of both the Frenkel–Kac and the Segal–Sugawara constructions which are well known for the case n = 1.

For a suitable non-degenerate integral lattice  $\Gamma$  and an even integral sublattice Q (cf. Sect. 3), we construct the Fock space  $V(\Gamma, \mathbf{b}) = \mathbb{C}[\Gamma] \otimes S(\mathbf{b}_{-})$ , where  $\mathbf{b}$  is a Heisenberg algebra defined by  $\Gamma$ . For each  $\alpha$  in Q we define vertex operator  $X(\alpha, z)$  (cf. 3.7) such that its Fourier components  $X_n(\alpha)$  act on  $V(\Gamma, \mathbf{b})$ . Our first result (Theorem 3.14) says that the Lie algebra generated by operators  $X_k(\alpha)$  ( $\alpha \in Q, (\alpha | \alpha) = 2$ ) is isomorphic to  $\tau_{[n]}$ . We also prove that the "zero moments" (taking k = 0 above) generate the Lie algebra  $\tau_{[n-1]}$  (Theorem 3.17).

Theorem 3.14 in the case n = 1 is due to Frenkel-Kac [FK] and  $\tau_{[1]}$  is the nontwisted affine Lie algebra. The case n = 2 is due to [MEY]. Our method of proof here differs considerably from that of [MEY]. It is more explicit in the sense that we give operators for every vector of  $\tau_{[n]}$  and prove that the necessary commutators hold. For example the vector  $h \otimes t_1^{r_1} t_2^{r_2} \cdots t_n^{r_n}$  in  $\tau_{[n]}$  is represented by the operator  $T_{r_n}^h(\delta_r)$  (cf. 3.10) which is not clear from [MEY]. A significant difference is the

<sup>\*</sup> Work supported in part by the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada.