Commun. Math. Phys. 133, 181-196 (1990)



Dimension of the Commutant for the SU(N) Affine Algebras

Ph. Ruelle*,**

Institut de Physique Théorique, Université Catholique de Louvain, B-1348 Louvain-la-Neuve, Belgium

Received December 10, 1989

Abstract. Explicit formulae are obtained, giving the number of independent matrices which commute with the matrices S and T describing the modular transformations of the SU(N) affine characters.

I. Introduction

In the context of rational conformal field theories, the construction and the classification of modular invariants remains one of the major problems. In a statistical mechanics language, this corresponds to the classification of all fixed-points of the renormalization group in two dimensions.

As the Wess-Zumino-Witten models are thought to be the building blocks in the construction of RCFT's, much attention has been focused on their modular invariants. But although many such invariants are known [1], there is so far no exhaustive list, except in the cases SU(2) [2] and SU(N) at level 1 [3].

Affine modular invariants are sesquilinear forms in the affine characters

$$Z(\tau, \tau^*) = \Sigma \left[\chi_{\lambda}(\tau) \right]^* N_{\lambda \lambda'} \left[\chi_{\lambda'}(\tau) \right] ,$$

where the coefficients $N_{\lambda\lambda'}$ are subject to appropriate conditions to make $Z(\tau, \tau^*)$ a partition function [2].

For the affine SU(N) algebras, a systematic approach has been initiated by Bauer and Itzykson [4]. They have given a description of the commutant of the (extended) modular transformations carried by the characters. Indeed the modular invariance of $Z(\tau, \tau^*)$ requires that the matrix $N_{\lambda\lambda'}$ belongs to this commutant.

Within the strategy adopted in [2] which led to the ADE classification for the SU(2) invariants, finding the commutant is the first step in the classification program. An interesting alternative is the study of SU(N) lattice integrable models

^{*} Chercheur IISN

^{**} Address after October 1: Dublin Institute for Advanced Studies, Dublin, Ireland