THE ANNUAL MEETING IN SAN FRANCISCO

The eightieth annual meeting of the American Mathematical Society was held at the San Francisco Hilton Hotel in San Francisco, California, from Tuesday, January 15, through Friday, January 18, 1974. There were 3337 registrants, including 2533 members of the Society. The meeting was held in conjunction with the annual meeting of the Mathematical Association of America (January 17–19).

There were two sets of Colloquium Lectures, each consisting of four one-hour talks. Professor Louis Nirenberg of the Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences, New York University, presented a series of Colloquium Lectures entitled *Selected topics in partial differential equations*. He was introduced at his four lectures by Professors Saunders Mac Lane, Murray H. Protter, Lamberto Cesari, and Charles B. Morrey, Jr. The other series of Colloquium Lectures was given by Professor John G. Thompson of the University of Cambridge. The title of his lectures was *Finite simple groups*. Professor Thompson was introduced by Professors Saunders Mac Lane, Nathan Jacobson, Walter Feit, and Marshall Hall, Jr.

Professor Nathan Jacobson of Yale University gave his Retiring Presidential Address on Wednesday, January 16, 1974. The title of his address was *Some* groups and Lie algebras defined by Jordan algebras. Professor Saunders Mac Lane introduced Professor Jacobson at his lecture.

The forty-seventh Josiah Willard Gibbs Lecture, *Economics and mathematical analysis*, was presented by Professor Paul A. Samuelson of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology on Tuesday, January 15, 1974. Professor Samuelson was introduced by Professor Saunders Mac Lane.

The Bôcher Memorial Prize in analysis was awarded to Professor Donald S. Ornstein of Stanford University on Wednesday, January 16. The prize was given in recognition of his paper entitled *Bernoulli shifts with the same entropy are isomorphic*, which was published in Advances in Mathematics **4** (1970), 337–352.

By invitation of the Committee to Select Hour Speakers for Annual and Summer Meetings, there were eight invited hour addresses. Professor Elwyn R. Berlekamp of the University of California, Berkeley, lectured on *Combinatorial* game theory; he was introduced by Professor William F. Lucas. Professor Richard J. Duffin of Carnegie-Mellon University spoke on *Some problems of mathe*matics and science; he was introduced by Professor Raoul H. Bott. Professor Adriano M. Garsia of the University of California, San Diego, lectured on *Combinatorial inequalities and smoothness of functions*; he was introduced by Professor Guido L. Weiss. Professor Shoshichi Kobayashi of the University of California, Berkeley, gave an address entitled Intrinsic distances, measures and geometric function theory; he was introduced by Professor Shing S. Chern. Professor Barry M. Mitchell of Rutgers University spoke on Some applications of

Copyright @ American Mathematical Society 1974