THE ANNUAL MEETING IN DALLAS

The seventy-ninth annual meeting of the American Mathematical Society was held at the Fairmont Hotel in Dallas, Texas, from Thursday, January 25, through Sunday, January 28, 1973. The meeting was held in conjunction with the annual meeting of the Association for Symbolic Logic, the annual meeting of the Mathematical Association of America, and a meeting of the National Council of Teachers of Mathematics. There were 3,162 registrants, including 2,314 members of the Society.

The forty-sixth Josiah Willard Gibbs Lecture was presented by Professor Jürgen K. Moser of the Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences, New York University, on Thursday evening. The title of Professor Moser's lecture was *The stability concept in dynamic systems*. He was introduced by Professor Saunders Mac Lane.

Professor Michael F. Atiyah of Oxford University gave a series of four Colloquium Lectures on the subject *The index of elliptic operators*. The presiding officers at the four lectures were Professors Saunders Mac Lane, Isadore M. Singer, Lesley M. Sibner, and Karen K. Uhlenbeck.

By invitation of the Committee to Select Hour Speakers for Annual and Summer Meetings, there were seven invited hour addresses. The speakers and their titles were as follows: Professor William K. Allard of Princeton University. Some unsolved regularity problems in the calculus of variations: Professor Samuel Gitler of the Instituto Politécnico Nacional in Mexico City, Cohomology operations and obstructions; Professor Barbara L. Osofsky of Rutgers University, The subscript of \aleph_n , projective dimension, and the vanishing of lim⁽ⁿ⁾; Professor Henry B. Mann of the University of Arizona, Additive group theory. A progress report; Professor Lester E. Dubins of the University of California, Berkeley, The abstract gambler's problem; Professor Michael E. Fisher of Cornell University, The hunt for singularities in statistical mechanics; Professor Nicholas M. Katz of Princeton University, Some remarks on differential equations in algebraic geometry. The following mathematicians presided at these seven lectures: Professors John E. Brothers, Mark E. Mahowald, Joseph J. Rotman, Olga Taussky Todd, Joseph L. Doob, Seymour Sherman, and Amassa C. Fauntleroy.

The second and third George David Birkhoff Prizes in Applied Mathematics were awarded on January 27 to Professor Fritz John of the Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences and to Professor James B. Serrin of the University of Minnosota. The prize was awarded to Professor John for his outstanding work in partial differential equations, in numerical analysis, and, particularly, in nonlinear elasticity theory. This latter work has led to his study of

Copyright © American Mathematical Society 1973