THE ANNUAL MEETING IN SAN ANTONIO

The seventy-sixth annual meeting of the American Mathematical Society was held at the San Antonio Convention Center in San Antonio, Texas on Thursday, January 22 through Sunday, January 25, in conjunction with the Mathematical Association of America. There were 3994 registrants, including 2603 members of the Society.

The forty-third Josiah Willard Gibbs Lecture, *Tides and time*, was delivered by Professor Walter H. Munk of the University of California, San Diego at 8:00 p.m. on Thursday, January 22. Professor Munk was introduced by Professor H. S. MacDonald Coxeter, Vice President of the Society.

By invitation of the Committee to Select Hour Speakers for the Summer and Annual Meetings, there were two invited addresses. Professor Morris W. Hirsch of the University of California, Berkeley, gave an address entitled *Foliations and noncompact transformation* groups. He was introduced by Professor John Milnor of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. Professor Daniel R. McMillan of the Institute for Advanced Study and the University of Wisconsin spoke on *Acyclicity in 3-manifolds*. He was introduced by Professor R. H. Bing of the University of Wisconsin.

Two Cole Prizes were awarded on Friday, January 23rd, one to Professor John Stallings of the University of California at Berkeley and the other to Professor R. G. Swan of the University of Chicago. The prizes were given in recognition of their work as follows: John Stallings, *On torsion free groups with infinitely many ends*, Annals of Math., Vol. 88, No. 2, Sept., 1968, pp. 312–334; R. G. Swan, *Groups of cohomological dimension* 1, Journal of Algebra, Vol. 12 (1969), pp. 585–610.

There were sixty-four sessions for contributed ten-minute papers, presided over by the following: Paul B. Bailey, H. L. Bentley, Kenneth R. Berg, Harry W. Berkowitz, Russell G. Bilyeu, Henry W. Block, J. C. Bradford, Dennison R. Brown, Ezra Brown, James Raymond Bunch, Philip Calabrese, J. H. Carruth, Donald R. Chalice, Joseph A. Cima, Charles V. Coffman, Craig Comstock, Roger Cooper, Frederick H. Croom, Wayne Cutrer, David F. Dawson, Frank R. Demeyer, James Dorroh, Walter Gautschi, Robert Gordon, Jack E. Graver, Lino Gutierrez-Novoa, Charles Holmes, Peter G. Jessup, James S. Johnson, Steven L. Jordan, Vadim Komkov, S. Kinoshita, Richard B. Lavine, Wolfgang J. Liebert, M. H. Martin, Richard K. Miller, Theodore Motzkin, Sheldon E. Newhouse, William R. Nico, Charles McArthur, Lavon B. Page, Edgar M. Palmer, Donald B.