## ENDOWMENT FUND

In 1923 an Endowment Fund was collected to meet the greater demands on the Society's publication program caused by the ever increasing number of important mathematical memoirs. Of this fund, which amounted to some \$94,000 in 1960, a considerable proportion was contributed by members of the Society. In 1961 upon the death of the last legatees under the will of the late Robert Henderson, for many years a Trustee of the Society, the Society received the entire principal of the estate for its Endowment Fund which now amounts to some \$647,000.

## SPECIAL FUNDS

## (\$500 or more)

## The Bocher Memorial Prize

This prize was founded in memory of Professor Maxime Bocher. It is awarded every five years for a notable research memoir in analysis which has appeared during the preceding five years in a recognized journal published in the United States or Canada; the recipient must be a member of the Society, and not more than fifty years old at the time of publication of his memoir.

First (Preliminary) Award, 1923: To G. D. Birkhoff, for his memoir Dynamical systems with two degrees of freedom.

Second Award, 1924: To E. T. Bell, for his memory Arithmetical paraphrases, and to Solomon Lefschetz, for his memoir On certain numerical invariants with applications to abelian varieties.

Third Award, 1928: To J. W. Alexander, for his memoir Combinatorial analysis situs.

Fourth Award, 1933: To Marston Morse, for his memoir *The foundations of a theory of the calculus of variations in the large* in *m-space*, and to Norbert Wiener, for his memoir *Tauberian theorems*.

Fifth Award, 1938: To John von Neumann, for his memorial Almost periodic functions and groups.

Sixth Award, 1943: To Jesse Douglas, for his memoirs Green's functions and the problem of Plateau, The most general form of the problem of Plateau, and Solution of the inverse problem of the calculus of variations.

Seventh Award, 1948: To A. C. Schaeffer and D. C. Spencer for their memoir Coefficients of schlicht functions.

Eighth Award, 1953: To Norman Levinson for his contributions to the theory of linear, nonlinear, ordinary, and partial differential equations contained in his papers of recent years.

Ninth Award, 1959: To Louis Nirenberg for his work in partial differential equations.