THE SUMMER MEETING IN MADISON

The seventy-third summer meeting of the American Mathematical Society was held in Madison, Wisconsin, from Tuesday through Friday, August 27–30, 1968. All sessions were held in lecture rooms and classrooms of the University of Wisconsin. There were 2,029 persons in attendance, including 1,036 members of the Society. This meeting of the Society was held in conjunction with meetings of the Mathematical Association of America, the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics, the Institute for Mathematical Statistics, and Pi Mu Epsilon.

There were two sets of Colloquium Lectures each consisting of four lectures. Professor Donald C. Spencer of Stanford University spoke on the subject "Overdetermined systems of partial differential equations." Professor Spencer was introduced at his four lectures by Professor Charles B. Morrey, Jr., Professor Victor W. Guillemin, and Professor Kennan T. Smith (twice). The other Colloquium Lecturer was Professor John W. Milnor of Princeton University, the University of California, Los Angeles, and the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. His topic was "Uses of the fundamental group." The presiding officers at Professor Milnor's four lectures were Professor Charles B. Morrey, Jr., Professor Samuel Eilenberg, Professor Deane Montgomery, and Professor Norman E. Steenrod.

By invitation of the Committee to Select Hour Speakers for Annual and Summer Meetings, there were three invited addresses. Professor Wu-Chung Hsiang of Yale University, who was introduced by Professor Franklin P. Peterson, spoke on "Nonsimply connected differential topology." Professor Phillip A. Griffith of the University of Houston and Princeton University addressed the society on the topic "Some transcendental problems in algebraic geometry." He was introduced by Professor Donald C. Spencer. The third speaker was Professor Victor W. Guillemin of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. He was also introduced by Professor Donald C. Spencer and spoke on "Recent developments in the theory of pseudogroups."

There were thirty-two sessions for the presentation of contributed papers. The following members of the Society presided: Richard A. Askey, Bruce C. Berndt, G. Robert Blakely, C. Edmund Burgess, Kuo-Tsai Chen, Y. W. Chen, Harold G. Diamond, Matthew P. Gaffney, Andrew M. Gleason, Emil Grosswald, Paul R. Halmos, Simon Hellerstein, Frederick Hoffman, Meyer Jerison, Nicholas D. Kazarinoff, John D. Kiltinen, Ralph M. Krause, Lawrence S. Levy, Leon R. McCulloh, Donald L. McQuillan, Joseph B. Muskat, How-