THE ANNUAL MEETING IN SAN FRANCISCO

The seventy-fourth annual meeting of the American Mathematical Society was held at the San Francisco Hilton Hotel in San Francisco, California, from Tuesday through Friday, January 23–26, 1968. There were 3,826 persons in attendance, including 2,743 members of the Society. This meeting of the Society was held in conjunction with the annual meeting of the Mathematical Association of America.

Professor Eugene P. Wigner of Princeton University delivered the forty-first Josiah Willard Gibbs Lecture, entitled Symmetry principles in old and new physics. Professor Wigner was introduced by Professor C. B. Morrey, Jr.

Dean A. A. Albert of the University of Chicago delivered the Presidential Address, the title of which was *On associative division algebras*. He was introduced by Professor C. B. Morrey, Jr.

By invitation of the Committee to Select Hour Speakers for Annual and Summer Meetings, two invited addresses were given at the meeting. Professor Wolfgang Wasow of the University of Wisconsin spoke on Connection problems for asymptotic series solutions of ordinary differential equations. Professor H. A. Antosiewicz presided at this session. Professor Louis Auslander of the City University of New York presented A survey of solvable Lie groups and applications. He was introduced by Professor Reinhold Baer.

Professor Jurgen K. Moser of the Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences, New York University was awarded the first George David Birkhoff Prize in Applied Mathematics. The award was presented by Professor S. M. Ulam. Professor J. Barkley Rosser presided at this session.

There were two special sessions of twenty-minute papers. The topic of the first session was Integration in function spaces. It was organized by Professor Monroe Donsker of the Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences, New York University, and consisted of talks by Professor R. H. Cameron, University of Minnesota; Professor Leonard Gross, Cornell University; Professor Edward Nelson, Princeton University; Professor Mark Kac, Rockefeller University; Professor S. R. S. Varadhan, New York University; and Professor I. E. Segal, Massachusetts Institute of Technology. The second special session of twenty-minute papers was devoted to Piecewise linear topology. Professor Morris W. Hirsch of the University of California, Berkeley, arranged the program which consisted of papers by Professor Marshall Cohen of Princeton University and Professor Dennis Sullivan of the University of California, Berkeley; Professor E. H. Connell, University of California, Berkeley; Professor T. F. Banchoff, Brown