THE ANNUAL MEETING IN HOUSTON

The seventy-third Annual Meeting of the American Mathematical Society was held at the Rice Hotel in Houston, Texas, on Tuesday through Friday, January 24–27, 1967, in conjunction with the Annual Meeting of the Association for Symbolic Logic, the Annual Meeting of the Mathematical Association of America, and a regional meeting of the National Council of Teachers of Mathematics. There were 3101 registrants, including 1986 members of the Society.

The fortieth Josiah Willard Gibbs Lecture, Some mathematical problems in the theory of phase transitions, was delivered by Professor Mark Kac of the Rockefeller University at 8:00 P.M. on Tuesday, January 24. Professor Kac was introduced by Professor Charles B. Morrey, Jr., President of the Society.

By invitation of the Committee to Select Hour Speakers for Annual and Summer Meetings, there were three invited addresses. Professor Paul J. Cohen, of Stanford University, spoke on *The modern development of axiomatic set theory*. He was introduced by Professor Alfred Tarski. Professor Alex Heller, of the City University of New York, who was introduced by Professor David G. Bourgin, addressed the Society on the topic *Stable homotopy categories*. The third speaker was Professor Bernhard H. Neumann, of the Australian National University and the University of Wisconsin. He was introduced by Professor William W. Boone and spoke on *Varieties of groups*.

At 2:00 P.M. on Wednesday, January 25, the Cole Prize in Number Theory was awarded to Professor James B. Ax, of Cornell University and Harvard University, and Professor Simon B. Kochen, of Cornell University and the Institute for Advanced Study. The Prize was given for a series of three joint papers entitled, *Diophantine problems over local fields*, which appeared in the American Journal of Mathematics 87(1965), 605–630 and 631–648, and in the Annals of Mathematics 83 (1966). The presentation was made by Professor Marshall Hall, Chairman of the Selection Committee for the Cole Prize in Number Theory. Professor Ax gave a brief description of the prize winning work.

There were four sessions of selected twenty-minute papers, two in Entire Functions and Related Parts of Analysis and two in Number Theory. The two special sessions on Entire Functions and Related Parts of Analysis were arranged by Professor Jacob Korevaar and included papers by S. S. Chern, W. H. J. Fuchs, L. A. Rubel, W. F. Stoll, Jacob Korevaar and Simon Hellerstein, Leopoldo Nachbin and C. P. Gupta, and E. F. Beckenbach. The two special sessions on