THE ANNUAL MEETING IN CHICAGO

The seventy-second Annual Meeting of the American Mathematical Society was held at the Sherman House Hotel in Chicago, Illinois, on Monday through Thursday, January 24–27, 1966, in conjunction with the Annual Meeting of the Mathematical Association of America. Registration at the meetings was 2,609, including 2,079 members of the Society.

The thirty-ninth Josiah Willard Gibbs Lecture, Stellar evolution, was delivered at 8:00 P.M. on Monday, January 24, by Professor Martin Schwarzschild of Princeton University. Dean A. A. Albert, President of the Society, introduced Professor Schwarzschild.

At 3 P.M. on Wednesday, January 26, Professor J. L. Doob, Past President of the Society, gave his retiring Presidential Address, Application to analysis of a topological definition of smallness of a set. Professor Doob was introduced by Professor C. B. Morrey.

By invitation of the Committee to Select Hour Speakers for Annual and Summer Meetings, addresses were given by Professor Richard Askey, of the University of Wisconsin, on Norm inequalities for some orthogonal expansions and by Professor George Glauberman, of the University of Chicago, on Sylow 2-subgroups of finite groups. Professor Askey was introduced by Professor I. J. Schoenberg, and Professor Glauberman by Professor R. H. Bruck.

At 2:00 P.M. on Monday, January 24, the third award of the Veblen Prize in Geometry was made. The Prize was divided, one half going to Professor Stephen Smale, of the University of California, Berkeley, for his contributions to various aspects of differential topology, and the other half going to Professors Morton Brown, of the University of Michigan, and Barry Mazur, of Harvard University, for their work on the generalized Schoenflies theorem. The Prize was awarded by Professor S. S. Chern, Chairman of the Selection Committee for the Veblen Prize. Professors Smale and Brown gave brief descriptions of the prize winning work; Professor Mazur was prevented by bad weather from being present.

There were four sessions of selected twenty-minute papers. The special session on Partial Differential Equations, organized by Professor Felix Browder, had papers by Robert Seeley, James Serrin, Tosio Kato, Felix Browder, and Edward Nelson. The special session on Markov Processes, arranged by Professor Wendell Fleming, had papers by F. B. Knight, John Lamperti, S. C. Port, Y. S. Chow and H. E. Robbins, R. E. Gangolli, and Stephen Orey and Benton Jamison. The special session on Combinatorial Mathematics, ar-