THE ANNUAL MEETING IN DENVER

The seventy-first Annual Meeting of the American Mathematical Society was held at the Denver-Hilton Hotel in Denver, Colorado, on Tuesday through Friday, January 26–29, 1965. This meeting was in conjunction with the Annual Meeting of the Mathematical Association of America, a meeting of the Association for Symbolic Logic, and a regional meeting of the National Council for Teachers of Mathematics. The registration at these meetings was 2,056, including 1,356 members of the Society.

The thirty-eighth Josiah Willard Gibbs Lecture was presented by Professor D. H. Lehmer of the University of California, Berkeley at 8:00 P.M. on Tuesday, January 26. Professor A. A. Albert, the president of the Society, introduced Professor Lehmer. The title of the Gibbs Lecture was *Mechanized mathematics*.

By invitation of the Committee to Select Hour Speakers for Annual and Summer Meetings, hour addresses were given by Professor Eugenio Calabi of the University of Pennsylvania, and by Professor David Mumford of Harvard University. Professor Calabi spoke on Curvature and differential structures on spheres. He was introduced by Professor James Eells. The title of Professor Mumford's talk was Heights of rational points and Mordell's conjecture. Professor Arthur Mattuck presided at this address.

The Cole Memorial Prize was awarded to Professor Walter Feit of Cornell University and Professor John Thompson of the University of Chicago for their joint paper Solvability of groups of odd order. The presentation was made by Professor Hans Zassenhaus, chairman of the Cole Prize Committee.

There were five sessions of selected twenty minute papers at this meeting. The first Special Session, on Tuesday, January 26 at 3:15 P.M., was arranged by Professor William Browder and consisted of five papers on Differential Topology. The authors of these papers were M. W. Hirsch, J. Milnor, J. Levine, P. E. Conner and E. E. Floyd, and W. Browder, J. Levine and G. R. Livesay. A Special Session on Differential Geometry was held on Wednesday, January 27 at 9:00 A.M. The program arranged by Professor James Eells consisted of papers by E. Feldman, T. Frankel, C. C. Hsiung, R. Sacksteder, and J. Wolf. The third Special Session was devoted to Ordinary Differential Equations. It was held on Wednesday at 2:00 P.M. The program of this session, consisting of papers by E. A. Coddington, L. Markus, J. K. Moser, S. Smale, and W. Wasow, was arranged