## THE ANNUAL MEETING IN WASHINGTON

The sixty-seventh annual meeting of the American Mathematical Society was held at the Hotel Willard in Washington, D. C., on January 23-26, 1961. During the same week, with headquarters at the same hotel, there were meetings of the Association for Symbolic Logic, the Mathematical Association of America, and the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics. The attendance of 1,527, including 1,203 members of the Society is the largest in the records of this Society.

The thirty-fourth Josiah Willard Gibbs Lecture was presented by Professor J. J. Stoker of New York University. The high quality of the series was beautifully upheld. The title of the lecture was *Problems in nonlinear elasticity*. President Montgomery presided at the session, which took place at 8:00 P.M. on Tuesday, January 24, in the Grand Ballroom.

By invitation of the Committee to Select Hour Speakers for Annual and Summer Meetings, Professor Lars Hörmander of the University of Stockholm and the Institute for Advanced Study addressed the Society in the Grand Ballroom at 2:00 P.M. on Monday, January 23. The title of his address was On the range of differential operators. Dr. Vlastamil Pták introduced the speaker.

By invitation of the same committee, Professor Helmut Wielandt of the University of Tübingen and the California Institute of Technology gave an address in the Grand Ballroom at 2:00 P.M. on Wednesday, January 25. His subject was On the structure of finite groups. The speaker was introduced by Professor Marshall Hall, Jr.

There were thirty-two sessions for contributed papers, at which a total of two hundred thirty-four papers were presented to the Society. The number of papers was somewhat larger than the number presented at the previous annual meeting and established a new record for the number of papers presented. The Society acknowledges with thanks the service of the following people in presiding over the sessions for contributed papers: Dr. Norman Bazley, Professors R. H. Bing, R. H. Cameron, V. F. Cowling, J. H. Curtiss, J. B. Diaz, Dr. R. D. Driver, Professors Carl Faith, D. J. Foulis, Murray Gerstenhaber, O. G. Harrold, Jr., Mr. Michael Goldberg, Professors Emil Grosswald, Erik Hemmingsen, J. E. Houle, Jr., S. B. Jackson, V. L. Klee, Jr., Jean E. LeBel, Dr. Benjamin Lepson, Professors L. F. McAuley, Josephine Mitchell, David Nelson, B. E. Rhoades, Walter Rudin, Anne E. Scheerer, Dr. Daniel Shanks, Dr. Oved Shisha, Pro-