## THE APRIL MEETING IN NEW YORK

The five hundred twenty-fourth meeting of the American Mathematical Society was held on Friday and Saturday, April 20–21, 1956 at Columbia University in New York City. The meeting was attended by about 330 persons, including 299 members of the Society.

By invitation of the Committee to Select Hour Speakers for Eastern Sectional Meetings, Professor J. T. Schwartz of Yale University and New York University addressed the Society at 2:00 P.M. on Friday on Riemann's method in the theory of special functions, and Professor Fritz John of New York University addressed the Society at 2 P.M. on Saturday on Continuation of solutions of partial differential equations. These sessions were presided over by Professors Nelson Dunford and J. J. Stoker respectively.

Sessions for contributed papers were held at 3:15 P.M. on Friday, and at 10 A.M. and 3:15 P.M. on Saturday. Chairmen at these sessions were Professor G. K. Kalisch, Dr. Lawrence Markus, Professors G. Y. Rainich, Alex Rosenberg, Charles Fox, Emil Grosswald, E. G. Straus. The Employment Register was maintained by Professor W. M. Hirsch.

The Council of the Society met at 5:15 P.M. on Friday, reconvening after dinner.

The Secretary announced the election of the following sixty-five persons to ordinary membership in the Society:

Mr. Sheldon Buckingham Akers, Jr., A C F Electronics, Alexandria, Virginia;

Dr. Allen E. Andersen, University of Massachusetts;

Professor Tommie Marie Anderson, Tougaloo College;

Mr. Americo Aruffo, Philco Corporation, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania;

Mr. Stephen Joseph Barone, Polytechnic Institute of Brooklyn;

Mr. Stephen Barry Behman, State College, Pennsylvania;

Mr. Andrew Angelo Benvenuto, University of Illinois;

Mr. Albert T. Bharucha-Reid, University of California, Berkeley;

Mr. Rupert Dean Boswell, Jr., University of Georgia;

Miss Christine Viola Brannan, University of Houston;

Mr. Kenneth Lawrence Brinkman, Cloud Physics, Dugway Proving Ground, Utah; Reverend Robert Ignatius Canavan, New York University;

Mr. Michael F. Capobianco, St. John's University;

Mr. Robert Carter, P. O. Box 903, Chicago 90, Illinois;

Mr. George Gilman Chapin, Remington Rand Univac, St. Paul, Minnesota;

Dr. Yun Shick Choi, Seoul National University, Seoul, Korea:

Mr. William Henry Colbert, Jr., University of Nevada;

Professor Samuel D. Conte, Wayne University;