THE SUMMER MEETING IN ANN ARBOR

The sixtieth Summer Meeting of the American Mathematical Society was held from Tuesday, August 30, through Friday, September 2, 1955, at the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, Michigan. Several other organizations met in Ann Arbor at about the same time: the Mathematical Association of America, the Institute of Mathematical Statistics, the Econometric Society, the Association for Symbolic Logic, the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics, the Industrial Mathematics Society, and Pi Mu Epsilon.

Over 800 people registered for the meeting, including 600 members of the Society. This was a record attendance for a Society meeting.

Professor Nathan Jacobson of Yale University delivered the Colloquium lectures, entitled *Jordan algebras*, on Tuesday at 11:00 A.M. and Wednesday, Thursday, and Friday at 9:00 A.M. Presiding offiers were Professors R. L. Wilder, A. A. Albert, Marshall Hall, Jr., and T. H. Hildebrandt.

By invitation of the Committee to Select Hour Speakers for Annual and Summer Meetings, Professors Raoul Bott, of the University of Michigan, and Edwin Hewitt, of the University of Washington, addressed the Society. Professor Bott spoke on *Some applications of the Morse theory to the topology of manifolds* at 1:30 p.m. Tuesday, and Professor Hewitt on *Convolution algebras* at 11:00 a.m. Wednesday. Presiding officers were Professors G. A. Hedlund and A. D. Wallace, respectively.

There was a joint session of the Society with the Econometric Society on *Extremum problems*, which was held in two parts on Thursday at 10:15 A.M. and 1:45 P.M. The lecturers were Professors Jacob Wolfowitz, Samuel Karlin, P. C. Rosenbloom, and Leonid Hurwicz. The presiding officers were Professors E. G. Begle and A. W. Tucker.

There was a joint session of the Society with the Industrial Mathematics Society on Friday at 10:15 A.M. There was an address by Dr. Saul Rosen of Wayne University entitled *The influence of digital computers on numerical analysis*, and four short papers. Professor A. W. Jacobson presided.

There were nineteen sessions for contributed papers. The presiding officers were Professors R. H. Bing, R. H. Bruck, A. H. Copeland, Dr. J. H. Curtiss, Dr. D. A. Flanders, Professors A. M. Gleason, J. W. Green, A. E. Heins, A. W. Jacobson, J. P. LaSalle, C. J. Nesbitt, G. de B. Robinson, H. J. Ryser, A. C. Schaeffer, R. D. Schafer, Seymour Sherman, P. A. Smith, R. M. Thrall, and C. B. Tompkins.