BY-LAWS OF THE AMERICAN MATHEMATICAL SOCIETY

ARTICLE I

Officers

Section 1. There shall be a President, a President Elect (during the even-numbered years only), an Ex-president (during the odd-numbered years only), three Vice Presidents, a Secretary, four Associate Secretaries, and a Treasurer.

Section 2. It shall be a duty of the President to deliver an address before the Society at the close of his term of office or within one year thereafter.

ARTICLE II

BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Section 1. There shall be a Board of Trustees consisting of seven trustees, five trustees elected by the Society in accordance with Article VII, together with the President and Treasurer of the Society ex officio. The Board of Trustees shall designate its own presiding officer and secretary.

Section 2. The function of the Board of Trustees shall be to receive and administer the funds of the Society, to have full legal control of its investments and properties, to make contracts and, in general, to conduct all business affairs of the Society.

Section 3. The Board of Trustees shall have the power to appoint a manager and such assistants and agents as may be necessary or convenient to facilitate the conduct of the affairs of the Society, and to fix the terms and conditions of their employment. The Board may delegate to the officers of the Society duties and powers normally inhering in their respective corporative offices, subject to supervision by the Board. The Board of Trustees may appoint committees to facilitate the conduct of the financial business of the Society and delegate to such committees such powers as may be necessary or convenient for the proper exercise of those powers. Agents appointed, or members of committees designated, by the Board of Trustees need not be members of the Board.

Nothing herein contained shall be construed to empower the Board of Trustees to divest itself of responsibility for, or legal control of, the investments, properties and contracts of the Society.

ARTICLE III

PUBLICATIONS COMMITTEES

Section 1. There shall be eight Publications Committees, which shall be the seven Editorial Committees specified in Section 2 of this Article and the Committee on Printing and Publishing specified in Section 3 of this Article.

Section 2. There shall be seven Editorial Committees, as follows: a committee of two members for the *Bulletin*; committees of three members each of the *Proceed*ings, the *Colloquium Publications*, *Mathematical Surveys* and *Mathematical Reviews*; a committee of four members jointly for the *Transactions* and the *Memoirs*, and one consisting of two representatives of the Society on the Board of Editors of the *American Journal of Mathematics*.

Section 3. There shall be a Committee on Printing and Publishing consisting of three members.