SPECIAL FUNDS

(\$500 or more)

The Bôcher Memorial Prize.

This prize was founded in memory of Professor Maxime Bocher. It is awarded every five years for a notable research memoir in analysis which has appeared during the preceding five years in a recognized journal published in the United States or Canada; the recipient must be a member of the Society, and not more than fifty years old at the time of publication of his memoir.

First (Preliminary) Award, 1923: To G. D. Birkhoff, for his memoir Dynamical systems with two degrees of freedom.

Second Award, 1924: To E. T. Bell, for his memoir Arithmetical paraphrases, and to Solomon Lefschetz, for his memoir On certain numerical invariants with applications to abelian varieties.

Third Award, 1928: To J. W. Alexander, for his memoir *Combinatorial analysis* situs.

Fourth Award, 1933: To Marston Morse, for his memoir *The foundations of a theory of the calculus of variations in the large in m-space*, and to Norbert Wiener, for his memoir *Tauberian theorems*.

Fifth Award, 1938: To John von Neumann, for his memoir Almost periodic functions and groups.

Sixth Award, 1943: To Jesse Douglas, for his memoirs Green's functions and the problem of Plateau, The most general form of the problem of Plateau, and Solution of the inverse problem of the calculus of variations.

Seventh Award, 1948: To A. C. Schaeffer and D. C. Spencer for their memoir *Coefficients of schlicht functions*.

Eighth Award, 1953: To Norman Levinson for his contributions to the theory of linear, nonlinear, ordinary and partial differential equations contained in his papers of recent years.

The Frank Nelson Cole Prize in Algebra. The Frank Nelson Cole Prize in the Theory of Numbers.

These prizes were founded in honor of Professor Frank Nelson Cole, on the occasion of his retirement as Secretary of the American Mathematical Society and Editor of the Bulletin, after twenty-five years of service; the fund was later doubled by his son, Charles A. Cole. They are awarded at five-year intervals for contributions to algebra and the theory of numbers, respectively, under restrictions similar to those for the Bôcher prize.

First Award, 1928: To L. E. Dickson, for his book Algebra und ihre Zahlentheorie, Zurich, 1927.

Second Award, 1931: To H. S. Vandiver, for his several papers on Fermat's last theorem published in the Transactions of the American Mathematical Society and the Annals of Mathematics during the last five years, with special reference to a