NOTES

A fund has been established to endow a scholarship at Newcomb College in memory of Marie J. Weiss.

The first two volumes of the Collected Mathematical Works of Harald Bohr have been published by the Danish Mathematical Society with the support of the Rask-Orsted Foundation and the Carlsberg Foundation; the third volume will appear shortly. The three volumes contain about 1000 pages each, and are edited by Erling Følner and Børge Jessen. They may be obtained, bound in buckram, at a total price of 110 Danish crowns (\$15.90), post free, from the Danish Mathematical Society, Institute of Mathematics, University of Copenhagen, Blegdamsvej 15, Copenhagen.

A conference on functions of a complex variable, with emphasis on topological methods, will be held from June 17 to June 30, 1953, in Ann Arbor under the auspices of the Department of Mathematics of the University of Michigan. About a dozen mathematicians from the United States and abroad will deliver invited addresses. There will also be opportunities for short contributed papers. The 1953 Summer Session at the University of Michigan will give special attention to complex variable theory in the form of courses and seminars. Information can be obtained by writing to Professor W. Kaplan, 274 West Engineering Building, Ann Arbor, Michigan.

The Fourth Symposium on Plasticity will be held at Brown University, Providence, Rhode Island, September 1–3, 1953. Persons interested in receiving further information should write to Professor H. J. Weiss, Graduate Division of Applied Mathematics, Brown University, Providence 12, Rhode Island.

Professor Otto Neugebauer of Brown University has been awarded the Dannie Heineman Prize of \$5000 for his book "The Exact Sciences in Antiquity."

Professor Lamberto Cesari of Purdue University has been awarded a National Science Foundation Grant.

Professor Claude Chevalley of Columbia University has been elected to membership in the National Academy of Sciences.

Professor Einar Hille of Yale University is on leave in France and has been awarded a Guggenheim Fellowship and a Fulbright Award.

Professor Witold Hurewitz of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology has been awarded a Fulbright Grant and is on leave of absence at the University of Paris.

Professor C. O. Oakley of Haverford College is on leave of absence and has received a Ford Foundation Grant.