## NOTES

The Board of Trustees met on April 25, 1952 and voted to continue, for the three year period beginning July 1, 1952, the \$5.00 page rate now used in the computation of institutional dues. The Board also voted to increase the rate for the publication charge applicable to nonmember institutions from \$5.00 to \$10.00 per page. The cost of publishing contributed papers has advanced very rapidly. The \$10.00 rate just adopted does not fully cover the assembly cost and is less than one-half the full cost of publication. These rates were reconsidered at this time in accordance with a recommendation of the Committee to Study Problems of Publication which was approved by the Council and the Board of Trustees in December, 1951. An announcement concerning the charge for the publication of contributed papers credited to nonmember institutions was made on page 115 of the March issue of this Bulletin. This note revises the page rate stated in the announcement.

The United States Naval Postgraduate School, which was founded in 1909 at Annapolis, Maryland, and until 1947 was a department of the United States Naval Academy, has been moved to Monterey, California.

Associate Professor A. L. Blakers of Lehigh University has been awarded The Alfred Noble Robinson Award for outstanding performance in the service of the University and unusual promise of professional achievement.

Professor I. W. Burr of Purdue University received the Brumbaugh award of the American Society for Quality Control, May, 1951.

Professor Richard Courant of New York University has been elected a foreign member of the Accademia Nazionale dei Lincei.

Professor Einar Hille of Yale University has been elected to the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences.

Assistant Professor F. E. Hohn of the University of Illinois has received a Ford Foundation grant for the advancement of education during 1951-52.

Mr. M. A. Hyman of the Naval Ordnance Laboratory is a Fulbright Scholar for the year 1951-52 and is at the Technische Hogeschool, Delft, Netherlands.

Professor Nathan Jacobson of Yale University has a Fulbright Award and Guggenheim Fellowship and is studying in Paris for the academic year 1951-52.

Mr. P. G. Kirmser of the Institute of Technology, University of