NOTES

Brown University announces its Third Symposium on Plasticity to be held September 8–9, 1950 under the auspices of the Graduate Division of Applied Mathematics.

The University of Maryland announces a Conference on Differential Equations to be held on September 8-9, 1950.

The John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation has announced awards in mathematics to the following: Dr. J. H. Bigelow, Institute for Advanced Study; Professor Samuel Eilenberg, Columbia University; Associate Professor N. E. Steenrod, Princeton University; Dr. R. P. Boas, Jr., American Mathematical Society; and Associate Professor Philip Hartman, Johns Hopkins University.

Professor H. S. M. Coxeter of the University of Toronto has been elected a fellow in the Royal Society.

Professor J. G. van der Corput of the University of Amsterdam is on leave of absence and has been appointed to a visiting professorship at Stanford University.

Professor Emeritus W. B. Carver of Cornell University has been appointed to a visiting professorship at Southern Illinois University.

Assistant Professor W. B. Caton of the State College of Washington has been appointed to an assistant professorship at DePaul University.

Associate Professor John DeCicco of the Illinois Institute of Technology has been appointed to a professorship at DePaul University.

Mr. R. J. Learson of the Western and Southern Insurance Company has accepted a position as Associate Manager of Selection with the Mutual Life Insurance Company of New York.

Professor H. B. Mann of Ohio State University is on leave of absence and has been appointed to a visiting professorship at the University of California.

Professor B. C. Patterson of Hamilton College has been appointed president of Washington and Jefferson College.

Professor A. C. Schaeffer of Purdue University has been appointed to a professorship at the University of Wisconsin.

Dr. Dorothy M. Stone has been appointed to a visiting professorship at Wellesley College.

Dr. J. V. Wehausen of David Taylor Model Basin, Navy Department, Washington, has accepted appointment to the position of Executive Editor of Mathematical Reviews to succeed Dr. R. P. Boas.