NOTES

The Society is translating selected papers from languages which are not widely read by American mathematicians. Funds for this project have been made available under a contract with the Office of Naval Research. The project is under the direction of a committee whose members are R. P. Boas, Samuel Eilenberg, D. H. Lehmer, William Prager, and G. Y. Rainich. The committee will be largely guided in its selection of papers for translation by suggestions from mathematicians. Suggestions may be sent to any member of the committee.

Professor L. E. J. Brouwer of the University of Amsterdam has been elected to membership in the Royal Society of London.

Professor Marston Morse of the Institute for Advanced Study has been elected a member of the Accademia delle Scienze dell'Istituto di Bologna. Professor Morse has recently received an honorary doctorate of science from Kenyon College.

Dr. R. G. D. Richardson who has recently retired as dean emeritus and professor emeritus from Brown University has been awarded the honorary degree of Doctor of Laws by Brown University.

Professor Oswald Veblen of the Institute for Advanced Study has been elected to membership in the Accademia Nazionale dei Lincei.

Professor Hermann Weyl of the Institute for Advanced Study has been made a correspondent of the French Academy of Sciences and has been elected to honorary membership in the Calcutta Mathematical Society.

Professor J. W. Bradshaw of the University of Michigan has retired with the title emeritus.

Professor W. H. Bussey of the University of Minnesota has retired with the title emeritus.

Professor B. H. Camp of Wesleyan University has retired with the title emeritus.

Professor W. B. Carver of Cornell University has retired with the title emeritus.

Miss Alice C. Dean of Rice Institute has retired with the title librarian emerita.

Professor G. W. Mullins of Columbia University has retired with the title emeritus.

Dean J. R. Overman of Bowling Green State University has retired with the title emeritus.

Professor R. R. Shumway of the University of Minnesota has retired with the title emeritus.