NOTES

The following have received Guggenheim fellowship appointments: Professor Warren Ambrose of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology; Professor Garrett Birkhoff of Harvard University; Professor P. R. Halmos of the University of Chicago; Professor Saunders MacLane of the University of Chicago.

The following have received National Research Council fellowship appointments in mathematics: Mr. Hing Tong of Columbia University; Mr. Herman Rubin of the University of Chicago; Dr. Daniel Zelinsky of the University of Chicago.

Dr. Samuel Karlen of Princeton University has been awarded the first Harry Bateman Research Fellowship by California Institute of Technology.

Professor E. J. Cartan of the University of Paris has been elected to membership in the Royal Society.

Professor Emeritus G. H. Hardy of Cambridge University has been elected to membership in the French Academy of Science.

Professor H. A. Kramers of the University of Leyden has been elected correspondant of the French Academy of Science.

Professor E. J. McShane of the University of Virginia has been awarded an honorary doctorate of science by Tulane University of Louisiana.

Professor C. C. MacDuffee of the University of Wisconsin has been awarded an honorary doctorate of science by Colgate University.

Professor J. H. Van Vleck of Harvard University has received an honorary doctorate of science from the University of Wisconsin.

Professor Hermann Weyl of the Institute for Advanced Study and Professor George Pólya of Stanford University have been elected correspondants of the French Academy of Science.

Professor Myrtie Collier of Immaculata Heart College, Los Angeles, California, has retired with the title emeritus.

Professor Bird M. Turner of West Virginia University has retired with the title emeritus.

Professor P. A. M. Dirac of Cambridge University has been appointed visiting professor at the Institute for Advanced Study for the current academic year.

Dr. Y. C. Wong of the University of Pennsylvania has been appointed to a professorship at the National Sun Yat-Sen University, Canton, China.

In the March issue of this Bulletin it was reported in error that