THE JANUARY MEETING ON FLUID DYNAMICS

The first program of the Committee on Fluid Dynamics of the American Physical Society was held at Columbia University on January 30, 31 and February 1, 1947. The American Mathematical Society acted as a cosponsor. These meetings of the Committee on Fluid Dynamics continue a series of closed meetings conducted during the war under the sponsorship of the Bureau of Ordnance of the U. S. Navy. The total attendance at the meeting was approximately three hundred. An audience survey on Thursday afternoon showed that the following 70 members of the American Mathematical Society were present:

Valentine Bargmann, Shepard Bartnoff, Stefan Bergman, Lipman Bers, Garrett Birkhoff, H. W. Bode, E. M. Boggs, T. E. Caywood, L. L. Cronvich, W. D. Duthie, Nat Edmonson, K. O. Friedrichs, W. J. Fry, Abe Gelbert, J. H. Giese, H. E. Goheen, N. A. Hall, Gerald Harrison, E. L. Haynes, A. D. Hestenes, J. H. Hett, Banesh Hoffmann, J. S. Isenberg, Aida Kalish, B. O. Koopman, P. A. Lagerstrom, Solomon Lefschetz, Joseph Lehner, B. A. Lengyel, Benjamin Lepson, C. C. Lin, D. P. Ling, Charles Loewner, E. R. Lorch, A. N. Lowan, J. K. L. MacDonald, A. K. Mitchell, Vladimir Morkovin, E. N. Nilson, G. H. Peebles, C. L. Pekeris, W. H. Pell, F. V. Pohle, Harry Polachek, Hillel Poritsky, William Prager, N. A. Renzetti, Daniel Resch, Moses Richardson, J. K. Riess, J. H. Rosenbloom, Arthur Sard, Hyman Serbin, Max Shiffman, S. S. Shü, Joseph Slepian, R. J. Slutz, T. L. Smith, George Springer, Benjamin Tannenbaum, A. H. Taub, J. E. Thompson, C. A. Truesdell, Y. W. Tschen, H. S. Tsien, J. W. Tukey, J. V. Wehausen, F. J. Weyl, H. A. Wood, A. W. Wundheiler.

Invited papers F1 to F6 were presented at the Thursday morning session, at which Professor H. W. Emmons presided. In the afternoon three invited addresses were given on aspects of *Recent developments in compressible flow* by Professors John von Neumann, G. F. J. Temple (of the Aeronautical Research Council of Great Britain) and Theodore von Kármán. Dr. H. L. Dryden presided.

Invited papers G1 to G6 were presented at the Friday morning session at which Dr. E. U. Condon presided. Contributed papers H1 to H13 were presented at the Saturday morning session at which Dr. R. J. Seeger presided.

Abstracts of all lettered papers except G4, G5 and G6 appeared in the Bulletin of the American Physical Society for January 30, 1947.

Of the 34 persons participating as speakers or chairmen, 9 were members of the American Mathematical Society.

- F1. Rudolf Ladenburg: Interferometry of faster-than-sound phenomena.
 - F2. A. H. Taub: Refraction of shocks in ideal gases.