NOTES

The Keith prize of the Royal Society of Edinburgh has been awarded to Dr. W. L. Edge of the University of Edinburgh for his work in geometry.

Professor Sydney Chapman of the Imperial College of Science and Technology, London, has been elected a foreign associate of the National Academy of Sciences.

Professor A. C. Offord of the University of Durham and Dr. A. G. Walker of the University of Liverpool have been elected ordinary fellows of the Royal Society of Edinburgh.

Dr. W. G. Penney of the Imperial College of Science and Technology, Professor A. R. Richardson of Cape Town, and Professor L. Rosenhead of the University of Liverpool have been elected fellows of the Royal Society.

Dr. J. H. Curtiss of Cornell University has received a Commendation Ribbon from the Secretary of the Navy for his work in statistical engineering for the Bureau of Ships and the Office of the Commanderin-Chief.

Assistant Professor Jesse Douglas of Brooklyn College has been elected a member of the National Academy of Sciences.

Associate Professor V. C. Poor of the University of Michigan has retired with the title professor emeritus.

The following have been granted post-service fellowships by the John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation: T. W. Anderson, C. L. Pekeris, G. B. Price, H. E. Robbins, Henry Scheffé, I. E. Segal, A. H. Taub, and J. W. T. Youngs.

The following have received John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Fellowships: R. H. Bruck, Mark Kac, and P. C. Rosenbloom.

Associate Professor C. B. Allendoerfer of Haverford College has been promoted to a professorship.

Professor L. D. Ames of the University of Southern California has retired.

Dr. B. H. Arnold of Purdue University has been appointed to an assistant professorship at Montana State College.

Professor H. F. Bohnenblust of Indiana University has been appointed to a professorship at California Institute of Technology.

Mr. F. E. Carner has accepted a position as junior mathematician with Franklin Institute.

Associate Professor K. S. Cole of the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Columbia University has been appointed to a professorship of biophysics at the University of Chicago.