NOTES

In accordance with regulations drawn up by the Office of War Mobilization and Reconversion, in cooperation with the Army and Navy, it is now possible to request the release from the services of persons who are qualified to serve as instructors in the colleges and universities. Requests must be made through the U. S. Office of Education. Details regarding the procedures to be followed in making requests are contained in a Bulletin, issued by the Office of Scientific Personnel, a copy of which may be secured by writing to the Secretary of the Society.

In connection with Netherlands-America week held in Amsterdam during the first week of December, addresses by Professor H. M. Gehman of the University of Buffalo and Professor Gabor Szegö of Stanford University were given in the Science Section.

A symposium on mathematical statistics and probability was held at the University of California at Berkeley January 28–30, 1946.

The following persons have received pre-doctoral fellowships from the National Research Council. The institutions given are those at which the individuals will study. E. J. Akutowicz, Harvard University; B. Altshuler, New York University; M. G. Arsove; S. I. Askovitz, University of Pennsylvania; Richard Bellman, Princeton University; R. H. Bowker, Columbia University; Herman Chernoff, Brown University; R. M. Cohn, Columbia University; J. Dugundje, Massachusetts Institute of Technology; B. R. Gelbaum, Harvard University; A. W. Goodman, Columbia University; William Gustin, University of California at Los Angeles; L. A. Henkin, Princeton University; I. I. Hirschman, Brown University; P. Olum, Harvard University; E. Paulson, Columbia University; I. H. Rose, Harvard University; W. R. Scott, Ohio State University; Daniel Zelinsky, University of Chicago.

The Department of Mathematics of Harvard University is receiving applications for Benjamin Peirce Instructorships for the academic year 1946–1947. A candidate should ordinarily have the doctorate or its equivalent. Applications and requests for further information may be sent to the Chairman of the Department.

Professor Subrahmanyan Chandrasekhar of the University of Chicago has been awarded the Sir Cattanmanchi Ramalinga Reddy National Prize for Mathematics by Andhra University of India.