NOTES

The Royal Society of Edinburgh has awarded the Gunning Victoria Jubilee Prize for the period 1940–1944 to Professor H. W. Turnbull of the University of St. Andrews for his distinguished contributions to mathematical science and the history of mathematics.

The Carty Gold Medal of the National Academy of Sciences with an honorarium of \$2,500 has been awarded to Professor Emeritus W. F. Durand of Stanford University, a member of the National Advisory Committee for Aeronautics. The medal is awarded every other year for "noteworthy and distinguished contributions in any field of science."

The following have been elected fellows of the Royal Society: Mr. A. E. Ingham of the University of Cambridge, Professor P. C. Mahalanobis of Presidency College, Calcutta, and Professor R. E. Peierls of the University of Birmingham.

Dr. A. Erdelyi of the University of Edinburgh has been elected a fellow of the Royal Society of Edinburgh.

Dr. Harold Jeffreys of St. John's College, Cambridge, and Sir Geoffrey I. Taylor, Trinity College, Cambridge, have been elected foreign associates of the National Academy of Sciences.

Dr. Harald Bohr, formerly of the University of Copenhagen, has been elected a foreign member of the American Philosophical Society.

Reverend J. T. O'Callahan of the College of the Holy Cross, Lieutenant Commander in the Navy, has been recommended for the Congressional Medal of Honor for outstanding bravery while in service on the U.S.S. Franklin.

Professor Hassler Whitney of Harvard University and Professor E. P. Wigner of Princeton University have been elected members of the National Academy of Sciences.

Professor Garrett Birkhoff of Harvard University and Professor Norman Levinson of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology have been elected fellows of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

Professor R. P. Agnew of Cornell University has been awarded the degree of Doctor of Science by Allegheny College.

Professor Albert Einstein of the Institute for Advanced Study has retired with the title professor emeritus.