BY-LAWS OF THE AMERICAN MATHEMATICAL SOCIETY

ARTICLE I

OFFICERS

Section 1. There shall be a President, three Vice Presidents, a Secretary, four Associate Secretaries, a Treasurer, and a Librarian.

Section 2. It shall be a duty of the President to deliver an address before the Society at the close of his term of office or within one year thereafter.

Section 3. The Librarian shall have charge of arrangements for the exchange of the Society's publications.

ARTICLE II

BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Section 1. There shall be a Board of Trustees consisting of five trustees elected by the Society, in accordance with Article V.

Section 2. The function of the Board of Trustees shall be to receive and administer the funds of the Society, to have full legal control of its investments and properties, to make contracts and, in general, to conduct all business affairs of the Society.

Section 3. The Board of Trustees shall have the power to appoint a manager and such assistants and agents as may be necessary or convenient to facilitate the conduct of the affairs of the Society, and to fix the terms and conditions of their employment. The Board may delegate to the officers of the Society duties and powers normally inhering in their respective corporative offices, subject to supervision by the Board. The Board of Trustees may appoint committees to facilitate the conduct of the business of the Society and delegate to such committees such powers as may be necessary or convenient for the proper exercise of those powers. Agents appointed, or members of committees designated, by the Board of Trustees need not be members of the Board.

Nothing herein contained shall be construed to empower the Board of Trustees to divest itself of responsibility for, or legal control of, the investments, properties and contracts of the Society.

ARTICLE III

EDITORIAL COMMITTEES

Section 1. There shall be six Editorial Committees—one of four members for the Bulletin, one of three members for the Transactions, one of three members for the Mathematical Reviews, one of three members for the Colloquium Publications, one of three members for the Mathematical Surveys, and one consisting of three representatives of the Society on the Board of Editors of the American Journal of Mathematics.

ARTICLE IV

COUNCIL

Section 1. The Council shall consist of fifteen members at large, and the following *ex officio* members: the officers of the Society specified in Article I, the members of the Editorial Committees, ex-secretaries who have served as secretaries for ten years or more, and ex-presidents for a period of six years after the completion of their respective presidential terms.