NOTES

Lectures on matrices by J. H. M. Wedderburn, volume 17 of the American Mathematical Society Colloquium Publications, is again available. A limited number of copies have been prepared photographically from the original edition. This reprint has an expanded bibliography but otherwise contains exactly the material of the original edition. The price is unchanged, \$3.35, with the usual 25 per cent discount to members of the Society.

The Association for Symbolic Logic has elected Dr. Alfred Tarski of the University of California as president and Professor C. A. Baylis of Brown University as vice president. Dr. C. G. Hempel of Queens College, Professor Karl Menger of the University of Notre Dame, and Professor Saunders MacLane of Harvard University have been elected members of the Executive Committee.

Dr. J. H. C. Whitehead of Balliol College, Oxford, has been elected a fellow of the Royal Society.

Professor Saunders MacLane of Harvard University has been elected a member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

Professor G. D. Birkhoff and Harlow Shapley of Harvard University have been elected honorary members of the Mexican Mathematical Society. Professor Birkhoff has also been elected a corresponding member of the Mexican National Academy of Sciences.

Assistant Professor A. E. Taylor of the University of California at Los Angeles has been elected a corresponding member of the National Academy of Sciences of Lima.

Professor André Weil of Lehigh University has been awarded a Guggenheim fellowship. He will prepare a book on the foundations of algebraic geometry.

Dr. Warren Weaver of the Rockefeller Foundation, Professor E. P. Wigner of Princeton University, and Professor E. T. Whittaker of the University of Edinburgh have been elected members of the American Philosophical Society.

Lord Bertrand Russell has been elected a fellow of Trinity College, Cambridge.

Professor Alan Hazeltine of Stevens Institute of Technology has resigned.