NOTES

The supply of certain issues of early volumes of the BULLETIN is almost exhausted. Any member who has copies of the particular issues listed below which he would be willing to contribute or sell is invited to communicate with the office of the Society at 531 West 116th Street, New York City, 27. Bulletin of the New York Mathematical Society, vol. 2, no. 3; Bulletin of the American Mathematical Society, vol. 1, nos. 3, 5; vol. 2, nos. 2, 8; vol. 3, no. 3; vol. 4, nos. 8, 9, 10; vol. 5, no. 6; vol. 8, nos. 6, 8, 9, 10; vol. 9, nos. 1, 3; vol. 10, nos. 1, 3, 4.

The BULLETIN has received from Professor A. Terracini and Professor F. Cernuschi, editors of Matematicas y Fisica Teorica, published in Tucuman, Argentina, an invitation for mathematical contributions. Accepted papers will be published in the language in which they are written.

The Sylvester Medal of the Royal Society has been awarded to Professor J. E. Littlewood of the University of Cambridge.

Dr. Vannevar Bush, President of the Carnegie Institution of Washington, has been awarded the Edison Medal for 1943 by the American Institute of Electrical Engineers.

Professor J. L. Synge of Ohio State University has been awarded the Henry Marshall Tory Medal of the Royal Society of Canada.

President H. N. Davis of the Stevens Institute of Technology has been elected an honorary member of the Institution of Mechanical Engineers of Great Britain.

Professor E. T. Whittaker has been elected president of the Royal Society of Edinburgh.

Professor Helen M. Walker of Teachers College, Columbia University, has been elected president of the American Statistical Association.

Professor J. L. Walsh of Harvard University has been elected vice president of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

Assistant Professor A. F. Bernhart of Bucknell University has been appointed to an assistant professorship at the University of Oklahoma.