## THE ANNUAL MEETING OF THE SOCIETY

In compliance with the request of the Office of Defense Transportation, the scientific program of the forty-ninth Annual Meeting of the American Mathematical Society, which was scheduled for December 28–30, 1942, in New York City, was cancelled. Therefore the Annual Meeting consisted of the meetings of the Council and the Board of Trustees which were held on December 27 and 28, 1942, in New York City, and at which the following members of the Society were present:

C. R. Adams, W. D. Cairns, W. B. Carver, Arnold Dresden, Nelson Dunford, Tomlinson Fort, R. M. Foster, B. P. Gill, Einar Hille, T. R. Hollcroft, E. M. Hull, J. R. Kline, Solomon Lefschetz, W. R. Longley, C. C. MacDuffee, Saunders MacLane, Marston Morse, G. W. Mullins, F. D. Murnaghan, R. G. D. Richardson, J. F. Ritt, J. D. Tamarkin, A. W. Tucker, Warren Weaver, S. S. Wilks, Oscar Zariski.

At the request of the authors, some of the papers submitted for presentation at the Annual Meeting were listed for presentation in person at future meetings of the Society in New York and Chicago. All other papers which had been submitted were read by title at the meeting of the Council; titles and cross references to the abstracts of these papers appear at the end of this report. At the meeting of the Council the Secretary reported that the Gibbs Lecture, scheduled to be delivered by Professor John von Neumann at the 1942 Annual Meeting, has been cancelled indefinitely since, because of war duties, the lecturer is not available.

The Board of Trustees met at 2:00 P.M. on December 27 in the Faculty Club of Columbia University and adjourned to reconvene at 1:00 P.M. on December 28. The meeting of the Council was held at 2:00 P.M. on December 27 in the Faculty Club of Columbia University.

The Secretary announced the election of the following twenty-two persons to membership in the Society:

Professor Albert Vinicio Baez, Wagner College, Staten Island, N.Y.;

Miss Helen P. Beard, Newcomb College, Tulane University;

Mr. Edward Griffith Begle, Yale University;

Dr. Isaiah Benjamin, Montreal, Quebec, Canada;

Mr. Albert Hosmer Bowker, Massachusetts Institute of Technology;

Mr. Paul Brock, Princeton University;

Professor James A. Cooley, University of Tennessee;

Mr. Charles Laurie Dolph, Princeton University;

Mr. Robert Dean Gordon, Douglas Aircraft Company, El Segundo, Calif.;

Dean Richard Wilson Horn, Dayton Y.M.C.A. College;

Mr. Bertram Kelsey Hovey, University of Pittsburgh;

Mr. Leroy M. Kelly, U. S. Coast Guard Academy;