## NOTES

The journal Revista, Matematicas y Fisica Teorica, published at the University of Tucumán in Argentina invites contributions from mathematicians in North America.

Two new volumes of the American Mathematical Society Colloquium Series have just appeared. Algebraic Topology by Professor Solomon Lefschetz of Princeton University is Volume 27 of the Series. Analytic Topology by Professor G. T. Whyburn of the University of Virginia is Volume 28 of the Series. The price for Volume 27 is \$6.00 and for Volume 28 \$4.75. Members of the American Mathematical Society receive a discount of twenty-five per cent. Orders for either of these books should be addressed to the Society at 531 West 116th Street, New York City.

A new series of pocket-size books dealing with varied aspects of modern scientific knowledge is to be published under the title *The Treasury of Science* by the L. B. Fischer Publishing Corporation. The editorial board includes Dr. Alvin Johnson of the New School for Social Research, Professor Harlow Shapley of Harvard University, and Dr. A. E. Cohn of the Rockefeller Institute.

Professor W. B. Carver of Cornell University has been elected Secretary-Treasurer of the Mathematical Association of America to replace Professor W. D. Cairns who is retiring January 1, 1943.

It is reported in the June 5, 1942, issue of Science that the Russian mathematicians Mr. S. N. Bernstein and Mr. S. A. Khristianovich have been awarded Stalin prizes.

Since the beginning of 1942 Professor G. D. Birkhoff of Harvard University has been serving as an exchange professor with Latin American Universities. He has given a series of lectures in the universities at Mexico City, Lima, Areguipa, and Santiago. At a special session he was made an honorary member of the faculty of the Universidad Nacional Mayor de San Marcos de Lima.

The honorary degree of doctor of laws was conferred by Park College on Dean P. P. Boyd of the University of Kentucky.

Dr. Vannevar Bush, president of the Carnegie Institution of Washington and director of the Office of Scientific Research and Development, has received an honorary doctorate of laws from the University of Pennsylvania and from Yale University.