NOTES

A pamphlet entitled Some military applications of elementary mathematics has been prepared by the Department of Mathematics at the United States Military Academy at West Point. The material involves mathematics of high school and freshman grade. This pamphlet is being used at the Institute of Military Studies, University of Chicago, and may be obtained by qualified institutions for \$0.15 a copy. Address Director, Institute of Military Studies, University of Chicago, Chicago, Illinois.

Professor E. T. Copson of University College, Dundee, and Professor W. H. McCrea of Queen's University, Belfast, have been awarded the Keith Prize of the Royal Society of Edinburgh.

The Chauvenet Prize has been awarded to Associate Professor Saunders MacLane of Harvard University for his two papers *Modular fields* and *Some recent advances in algebra* published in the American Mathematical Monthly.

Professor W. D. Cairns, Secretary-Treasurer of the Mathematical Association of America, has announced that the Department of Mathematics of the University of Toronto has won the first prize of \$400 in the fifth annual William Lowell Putnam Mathematical Competition, held March 7, 1942. The members of the team were K. S. Hoyle, H. V. Lyons, M. A. Preston. The second prize of \$300 is awarded to the Department of Mathematics of Yale University, the members of whose team were F. H. Brownell, A. M. Gleason, A. E. Roberts. The third prize of \$200 is awarded to the Department of Mathematics of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, the members of whose team were E. D. Calabi, W. S. Loud, G. P. Wachtell. The fourth prize of \$100 is awarded to the Department of Mathematics of the College of the City of New York, the members of whose team were Herman Chernoff, Harvey Cohn, Edward Gordon. In addition to these prizes to the departments of mathematics with winning teams, a prize of \$50 each is awarded to the following five persons whose scores ranked highest in the six-hour examination (names listed alphabetically): Harvey Cohn, A. M. Gleason, W. S. Loud, H. V. Lyons, M. A. Preston. One of these five will be chosen to receive a \$1000 year scholarship at Harvard University, this award to be announced later. The members of the four winning teams will receive individual cash awards according to the ranks of their teams, and all individuals receiving awards will also receive medals. Honorable