## NOTES

Copies of the report Mathematical Education for Defense of the Subcommittee on Education for Service of the War Preparedness Committee (W. L. Hart, Chairman) may be obtained, while the supply lasts, in lots of 25 for \$1.25 from Professor J. R. Kline, University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, Pa., or Professor W. D. Cairns, 97 Elm Street, Oberlin, Ohio. This report is reprinted from the American Mathematical Monthly and has also appeared in the Mathematics Teacher and School Science and Mathematics.

During the winter 1941–1942 a symposium on non-linear circuit theory will be presented by the Basic Science Group of the American Institute of Electrical Engineers, New York Section. The following six lectures will be given: General nature of the problem of non-linear circuits and outline of the various methods of attack, Professor E. Weber, Polytechnic Institute of Brooklyn; Power series solutions, Dr. L. A. MacColl, Bell Telephone Laboratories; Fourier series solutions, Mr. W. R. Bennett, Bell Telephone Laboratories; Graphical methods, Mr. A. Preisman, R.C.A. Institute; Numerical step-by-step method, Professor Alan Hazeltine, Stevens Institute of Technology; Analytical methods, Dr. P. Le Corbeiller, Harvard University and New York University. Further information about this symposium may be obtained from Mr. H. E. Farrer, A.I.E.E. Headquarters, 33 West 39th Street, New York, N. Y.

Applications for Benjamin Peirce instructorships at Harvard University for the year 1942–1943 should be sent to the Chairman of the Department of Mathematics. Candidates should have received the Ph.D. degree or have had equivalent training.

The School of Mathematics of the Institute for Advanced Study each year allocates a small number of stipends to gifted young mathematicians and mathematical physicists to enable them to study and to do research work at Princeton. Candidates must have given evidence of ability in research comparable at least with that expected for the degree of Doctor of Philosophy. Blanks for application may be obtained from the School of Mathematics of the Institute, Fuld Hall, Princeton, N. J., and are returnable by February 1, 1942.

The first Charles Chree Medal and Prize of the English Physical Society has been awarded to Professor Sydney Chapman of the Imperial College of Science and Technology.

According to an announcement in Mathematische Annalen (vol.