NOTES

At the meeting of the American Association for the Advancement of Science at the University of New Hampshire at Durham on June 26–27, 1941, the following addresses were presented: Statistical mechanics, by Professor Norbert Wiener of Massachusetts Institute of Technology; Topological transformation groups in euclidean spaces, by Professor Deane Montgomery of Smith College; Vector lattices, by Professor Garrett Birkhoff of Harvard University; Some recent researches on the coloring of maps, by Professor D. C. Lewis of the University of New Hampshire.

At New York University five tuition-free courses in higher mathematics, approved by the United States Office of Education, were given in the evenings beginning June 12. The subjects included advanced methods of applied mathematics, fluid dynamics and applications, theory of elastic plates, electrical network theory and vibrations.

Dr. Harold Davenport of the University of Manchester has been awarded The Adams Prize of the University of Cambridge.

Professor L. J. Mordell of the University of Manchester has been awarded the De Morgan Medal of the London Mathematical Society.

At the fiftieth anniversary celebration of the University of Chicago in September Professor G. D. Birkhoff of Harvard University and Professor Oswald Veblen of the Institute for Advanced Study were awarded honorary doctorates.

The degree of doctor of science has been conferred upon Professor P. W. Bridgman of Harvard University by Stevens Institute of Technology.

An honorary doctorate of science has been conferred by Harvard University and by the Polytechnic Institute of Brooklyn upon Dr. Vannevar Bush, president of the Carnegie Institution of Washington.

An honorary doctorate of science has been conferred by Princeton University upon Professor Emeritus L. E. Dickson of the University of Chicago.

Dean H. E. Hawkes of Columbia University received an honorary doctorate of laws from Bethany College.

Professor J. W. Lasley of the University of North Carolina has been elected president of the Southeastern Section of the Mathematical Association of America.