NOTES

A summer session of special interest is being held at Brown University this year. It is devoted to advanced instruction and research in mechanics, a program designed for the purpose of increasing the effectiveness of research in essential American industries. The summer course is approved as a part of the Engineering Defense Training Program of the U. S. Office of Education. The Carnegie Corporation of New York has made a grant toward its support. Similar sessions are planned for the period October 1, 1941–January 31, 1942, and February 11–June 6, 1942. Those who wish information about these sessions should communicate with the Dean of the Graduate School, Brown University, Providence, Rhode Island.

Among the members of the U. S. National Defense Research Committee who visited Great Britain were Dr. Warren Weaver and Professor J. L. Tate.

Professor Sydney Chapman of Imperial College, South Kensington, has been elected president of the Royal Astronomical Society. Professor H. C. Plummer of the Military College of Science, Woolwich, has been elected vice president.

Professor L. W. Cohen of the University of Kentucky has been named president of the university branch of the American Association of University Professors.

Dean L. P. Eisenhart of Princeton University has been appointed one of the directors of the National Science Fund of the National Academy of Sciences.

Professor W. D. Cairns, Secretary-Treasurer of the Mathematical Association of America, has announced that the Department of Mathematics of Brooklyn College, Brooklyn, New York, has won the first prize of \$500 in the fourth annual William Lowell Putnam Mathematical Competition, held March 1, 1941. The members of the team were Richard Bellman, Peter Chiarulli, Hyman Zimmerberg. The second prize of \$300 is awarded to the Department of Mathematics of the University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, the members of whose team were S. I. Askovitz, Hyman Kamel, P. C. Rosenbloom. The third prize of \$200 is awarded to the Department of Mathematics of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, Massachusetts, with team members J. R. R.