NOTES

The third annual mathematical symposium at the University of Notre Dame was held on April 12-13, 1939, on metric geometry. The following papers were presented: The characterization of pseudo-spherical sets, with applications to determinant theory, L. M. Blumenthal, University of Missouri; Some recent results on pseudo-plane quintuples, P. M. Pepper, University of Notre Dame; A new mode of a locally euclidean surface, M. Sadowsky, Armour Institute of Technology; A new characterization of the straight line, L. M. Blumenthal; Metric spaces related to the theory of critical points, Marston Morse, Institute for Advanced Study; Three metrics arising in the calculus of variations, Karl Menger, University of Notre Dame; Some analytical aspects of isometric imbedding, I. J. Schoenberg, Colby College; Algebraic treatment of the isometric imbedding into euclidean and related spaces, Emil Artin, Indiana University and the University of Notre Dame; On the isometric imbedding into groups, B. J. Topel, University of Notre Dame; Universal ordered sets, A. N. Milgram, University of Notre Dame; A general theory of relation-preserving imbedding, Karl Menger.

Professor A. Sommerfeld of the University at Munich has been awarded the Lorentz Medal of the Royal Dutch Academy of Sciences.

On the occasion of the celebration of the fiftieth anniversary of the founding of the University at Sofia, honorary doctorates were awarded to the following mathematicians: Dean G. D. Birkhoff, Harvard University; Professor Wilhelm Blaschke, University of Hamburg; Professor Émile Borel, Sorbonne; Professor Emeritus A. L. Bowley, University of London; Professor G. H. Hardy, University of Cambridge; Professor Paul Montel, Sorbonne; Professor Waclaw Sierpiński, University of Warsaw.

Professors E. Cartan, J. A. Schouten, D. van Dantzig, W. Fock, and B. Kagan have been elected honorary members of the Mathematical Society of Kazan.

Dr. A. P. Guinand of the University of Adelaide, Oxford, and Mr. D. G. Northcott of St. John's College, Cambridge, have been awarded Commonwealth Fund fellowships. They will study at Princeton University.

Professor H. Lebesgue of the College of France has been granted an honorary doctorate by the University at Lwow and by the University at Cracow. Professor Lebesgue has become a member of the editorial committee of Enseignement Mathématique.

Professor M. Picone of the University of Rome has been elected a member of the Royal Academy of Sciences.

Professor S. Timoshenko has been elected correspondant of the French Academy of Sciences.

Professor E. E. DeCou of the University of Oregon has been given the title emeritus. He has retired as head of the department of mathematics but will continue to do some teaching.

Harvard University has conferred an honorary doctorate upon Dr. P. W. Bridgman, professor of mathematics and natural philosophy at Harvard University.