## NOTES

The editors of the Transactions wish to acknowledge the services of the following persons, not members of the Editorial Board, who have been consulted regarding papers offered for publication in volumes 43 and 44: C. R. Adams, M. A. Basoco, B. A. Bernstein, G. A. Bliss, Salomon Bochner, H. R. Brahana, H. E. Buchanan, J. L. Doob, Nelson Dunford, L. P. Eisenhart, L. M. Graves, Israel Halperin, G. A. Hedlund, Maximilian Herzberger, E. V. Huntington, M. H. Ingraham, R. D. James, J. R. Kline, B. O. Koopman, C. G. Latimer, Harry Levy, D. C. Lewis, Hans Lewy, N. H. McCoy, F. D. Murnaghan, John von Neumann, H. A. Rademacher, G. Y. Rainich, J. F. Randolph, J. D. Tamarkin, S. M. Ulam, Morgan Ward, R. L. Wilder, S. S. Wilks, W. A. Wilson, Aurel Wintner.

A symposium on geometry was held at the University of Cincinnati on November 12, 1938. Professors Oswald Veblen, A. B. Coble, and Karl Menger gave addresses.

The German Academic Exchange Service has opened a branch office in New York City at 580 Fifth Avenue.

Science reports that plans for the first building for the Institute for Advanced Study at Princeton have been approved by the trustees. The building will be known as Fuld Hall, and will probably be ready for occupancy by September, 1939.

Yale University offers each year a number of Sterling research fellowships, some of them open to mathematicians. For the year 1939–1940 the normal stipend will be \$1800. Applicants must have received the degree of Doctor of Philosophy or its equivalent from approved universities in the United States or foreign countries. In general, preference is given to applicants of not more than thirty-five years of age, but older persons are eligible. Applications should be received before March 1; blanks may be obtained from the Graduate School office, Yale University.

The Copley Medal of the Royal Society has been awarded to Professor Niels Bohr, in recognition of his distinguished work in theoretical physics and particularly in the development of the quantum theory of atomic structure.

The Nobel Prize in physics has been awarded to Professor Enrico Fermi of the University of Rome.

Dr. Heinrich Behmann of the University of Halle has been promoted to an assistant professorship.

Mr. W. G. Cochran, mathematical statistician of the Rothamsted Experimental Station, is working at the Statistical Laboratory at Ames, Iowa.

Dr. Hubert Cremer of the University of Köln has been promoted to an assistant professorship.

Professor Ernst Fischer of the University of Köln has retired.

Professor Dario Graffi of the University of Turin has been appointed to a professorship at the University of Bologna.