## NOTES

In addition to the members of the editorial staff of the Bulletin, the following persons have assisted the editors, either by serving as referees or by advising concerning papers offered for publication in the present volume: R. P. Agnew, A. A. Albert, R. G. Archibald, Reinhold Baer, M. A. Basoco, Harry Bateman, E. F. Beckenbach, A. C. Berry, H. R. Brahana, Richard Brauer, E. W. Chittenden, J. A. Clarkson, A. B. Coble, Abraham Cohen, Richard Courant, H. B. Curry, J. L. Doob, Nelson Dunford, W. L. Duren, Arnold Emch, G. C. Evans, L. R. Ford, W. B. Ford, Philip Franklin, T. C. Fry, H. L. Garabedian, H. H. Goldstine, Saul Gorn, W. C. Graustein, J. A. Greenwood, V. G. Grove, W. A. Hurwitz, Dunham Jackson, Nathan Jacobson, R. D. James, R. L. Jeffery, E. P. Lane, R. E. Langer, Lincoln La Paz, D. H. Lehmer, D. N. Lehmer, Walter Leighton, Norman Levinson, Hans Lewy, Saunders MacLane, H. H. Mitchell, Deane Montgomery, C. N. Moore, Marston Morse, Oystein Ore, A. E. Pitcher, H. A. Rademacher, G. Y. Rainich, Wladimir Seidel, W. E. Sewell, I. M. Sheffer, J. A. Shohat, Virgil Snyder, D. J. Struik, Otto Szász, Gabor Szegő, J. M. Thomas, T. Y. Thomas, W. J. Trjitzinsky, H. S. Vandiver, R. J. Walker, J. L. Walsh, S. E. Warschanski, Hermann Weyl, G. T. Whyburn, D. V. Widder, Norbert Wiener, John Williamson, Leo Zippin. The editors desire publicity to acknowledge this service.

The Fifth International Congress for the Unity of Science is to be held at Harvard University, September 5-10, 1939. The theme of the Congress is Logic of Science; interest will center upon the relation of concepts, laws, and methods of the various sciences. Attention will be devoted to general problems connected with the unification of science, and, in particular, with the logic of the physical sciences, the relation of the physical and biological sciences, and the relation of the biological and sociohumanistic sciences. There will also be a number of special sessions and symposia concerned with special problems and fields. The Congress is sponsored by the International Committee of the Congresses for the Unity of Science, by the International Institute for the Unity of Science, and, in America, by the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the Philosophy of Science Association, the Association for Symbolic Logic, and the American Philosophical Association. A series of twenty monographs, entitled Foundations of the Unity of Science (and constituting the first two volumes of the International Encyclopedia of Unified Science) is now being issued by the University of Chicago Press, and helps to provide a background for the Congress. Three monographs have already appeared, and it is hoped that all twenty will be in print by the opening of the Congress. Those who wish later notices of the Congress are requested to send their name and address to Professor C. W. Morris, University of Chicago, Chicago, Illinois.

On the occasion of the Society's Semicentennial Celebration two volumes were published. Volume I, written by R. C. Archibald, is entitled A Semicentennial History of the American Mathematical Society 1888–1938, with Biographies and Bibliographies of the Past Presidents. The price is \$3.00. Volume II, Semicentennial Addresses, contains papers by E. T. Bell, J. F. Ritt, Norbert Wiener, E. J. McShane, T. Y. Thomas, R. L. Wilder, G. C. Evans, J. L. Synge, and G. D. Birkhoff. The price of this volume of more than three hundred pages is \$4.50. Members of the Society may obtain both