## NOTES

The International Astronomical Union met at Stockholm, from August 3 to August 10.

The International Conference on New Theories in Physics was held in Warsaw, beginning May 30, under the auspices of the International Institute of Intellectual Coöperation of the League of Nations. Those present from the United States included Professor John von Neumann, of Princeton University, and Professor E. P. Wigner, of the University of Wisconsin.

A conference on the application of statistical methods to industrial and engineering problems was held at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, September 8–9, 1938, under the direction of the department of mathematics and the department of economics and social science. Among those to address the conference were Mr. L. H. C. Tippett, of the British Cotton Industry Research Association, Dr. W. A. Shewhart, of the Bell Telephone Laboratories, and Dr. S. S. Wilks, of Princeton University.

Professor J. B. S. Haldane has been awarded the Weldon Memorial Prize for 1938.

Professor J. E. Littlewood, Rouse Ball professor of mathematics at the University of Cambridge, has been awarded the De Morgan Medal for 1938 of the London Mathematical Society. The Medal, which is awarded triennially, will be presented at the next meeting of the Society, on November 17.

Professor W. Blaschke, of the University of Hamburg, has been named a member of the Academies of Leipzig and Munich and also an honorary member of the Academy of Sciences of Roumania.

Sir Arthur Eddington has been appointed to the Order of Merit by His Majesty the King of England.

Professor F. Enriques, of the Royal University of Rome, has been elected an honorary fellow of the Royal Society of Edinburgh.

Professor Tullio Levi-Civita has been elected to membership in the French Academy of Sciences.

Dr. N. E. Nørlund, professor of mathematics at the University of Copenhagen and director of the Danish Geodetic Institute, has been elected a foreign member of the Royal Society.

An honorary degree was conferred upon Professor V. Volterra, of Rome, by the University of St. Andrews at the time of the tercentenary celebration of the birth of James Gregory.

Professor E. T. Bell, of the California Institute of Technology, has been awarded the gold medal of the Commonwealth Club of California for his book entitled *Men of Mathematics*. The medal is awarded for "the best scholarship and research work published during 1937."