NOTES

A colloquium on the theory of probability will be held at Geneva, Switzerland, October 11–16, 1937, under the auspices of the University of Geneva. This is one of a series of colloquia (Conférences Internationales) which have been held, for several years, at this university. The list of speakers includes the following: S. Bernstein, P. Cantelli, H. Cramér, E. L. Dodd, W. Feller, B. de Finetti, M. Fréchet, V. Glivenko, W. Heisenberg, E. Hopf, B. Hostinsky, C. Jordan, A. Kolmogoroff, P. Lévy, R. von Mises, J. Neymann, N. Obrechkoff, O. Onicescu, G. Pólya, E. Slutsky, J. F. Steffensen, H. Steinhaus, A. Wintner. The titles of the papers by Professors Dodd and Wintner are, respectively, Certain coefficients of regression or trend associated with largest likelihood, and Distribution functions of sums of independent random variables.

The Royal Academy of Sciences of Turin has elected as corresponding members Professor E. Bompiani, of the University of Rome, and Professor G. Krall, of the University of Naples.

Dr. Sydney Goldstein, lecturer in mathematics at the University of Cambridge, was elected a Fellow of the Royal Society of London at the meeting held on May 6, 1937.

Professor Paul Montel, of the Sorbonne, has been elected a member of the Section of Geometry of the Paris Academy of Sciences, in succession to the late Professor Edouard Goursat.

Among the delegates appointed by the United States Department of State to the Descartes Congress held in Paris, France, early in August, were Dean G. D. Birkhoff, chairman of the delegation, and Professors Arnold Dresden and L. C. Karpinski. The occasion was the three hundredth anniversary of the publication of Descartes' Discourse on Method.

At the dinner of the National Academy of Sciences held on April 27, 1937, the James Craig Watson Medal was awarded to Professor Emeritus E. W. Brown, of Yale University, for his work on lunar theory.

At the recent centennial celebration of Mount Holyoke College, the degree of doctor of science was conferred on Professor Anna P. Wheeler, of Bryn Mawr College.

The following have been appointed National Research Fellows in Mathematics for the year 1937-38: R. P. Boas, Jr., D. M. Dribin, Dorothy Manning, A. E. Taylor, C. B. Tompkins, H. S. Zuckerman. This list includes renewals.

- Dr. F. W. Dresch has been appointed Florence Noble Travelling Fellow of the University of California.
- Dr. L. A. Pipes has been appointed research fellow at the University of Wisconsin.