## NOTES

In addition to the members of the editorial staff of the Bulletin, the following persons have assisted the editors, either by refereeing papers or by advising concerning papers offered for publication in the present volume: M. A. Basoco, E. T. Bell, A. A. Bennett, B. A. Bernstein, H. R. Brahana, W. C. Brenke, A. B. Brown, Leonard Carlitz, R. D. Carmichael, E. W. Chittenden, A. B. Coble, H. B. Curry, Arnold Emch, H. T. Engstrom, G. C. Evans, L. R. Ford, Philip Franklin, T. C. Fry, Einar Hille, T. R. Hollcroft, E. V. Huntington, W. A. Hurwitz, M. H. Ingraham, Dunham Jackson, R. D. James, A. J. Kempner, R. E. Langer, D. H. Lehmer, N. H. McCoy, C. C. MacDuffee, W. A. Manning, A. D. Michal, H. H. Mitchell, C. N. Moore, Marston Morse, F. D. Murnaghan, G. Y. Rainich, J. F. Ritt, L. L. Silverman, P. A. Smith, Virgil Snyder, D. J. Struik, J. L. Synge, J. D. Tamarkin, J. M. Thomas, T. Y. Thomas, Stepan Timoshenko, W. J. Trjitzinsky, H. S. Vandiver, J. L. Walsh, Morgan Ward, Louis Weisner, H. S. White, G. T. Whyburn, W. M. Whyburn, Norbert Wiener, R. L. Wilder, S. S. Wilks, John Williamson, W. A. Wilson, B. C. Wong. The editors desire publicly to acknowledge this service.

Harvard University appoints annually two Benjamin Peirce Instructors in Mathematics. These instructorships are intended to give promising young men who already have their doctorates the opportunity to combine their research activities with a moderate amount of teaching, including some advanced instruction. Applications should be sent to Professor W. C. Graustein, Chairman of the Division of Mathematics, by February 15, 1937.

The School of Mathematics of the Institute for Advanced Study each year allocates a small number of stipends to gifted young mathematicians and mathematical physicists to enable them to study and to do research work at Princeton. Candidates must have given evidence of ability in research comparable at least with that expected for the degree of Doctor of Philosophy. Blanks for application may be obtained from the Institute, and are returnable by February 1, 1937.

The National Institute of Sciences of Calcutta, India, plans to issue each year a publication under the title Indian Science Abstracts, the subtitle being An Annotated Bibliography of Science in India. In this publication, the first part of which appeared recently, it is planned to include abstracts of all scientific papers published in India, and also of papers published abroad on work done in India or based on Indian material.

The Anniversary Meeting of the Founder Societies of the American Institute of Physics was held in New York City, October 29–31.

An Indian Science Congress will be held at Hyderabad on January 2–8, 1937. There will be a section for mathematics and physics.

The Thomas Hawksley Lecture of the Institution of Mechanical Engineers