NOTES

In addition to those of the editorial staff of the Bulletin, the following persons have assisted the editors, either by refereeing papers or by advising concerning papers offered for publication in the present volume: A. A. Albert, W. L. Ayres, E. T. Bell, A. A. Bennett, B. A. Bernstein, R. D. Carmichael, E. W. Chittenden, A. B. Coble, L. E. Dickson, Jesse Douglas, Arnold Dresden, Arnold Emch, Raymond Garver, L. W. Griffiths, T. R. Hollcroft, E. V. Huntington, W. A. Hurwitz, Louis Ingold, Dunham Jackson, A. J. Kempner, E. P. Lane, C. C. MacDuffee, W. A. Manning, A. D. Michal, C. N. Moore, F. S. Nowlan, Oystein Ore, G. Y. Rainich, J. F. Ritt, J. A. Shohat, H. A. Simmons, Virgil Snyder, J. D. Tamarkin, H. S. Wall, J. H. M. Wedderburn, H. S. White, E. T. Whittaker, G. T. Whyburn, W. M. Whyburn, R. L. Wilder, W. A. Wilson, B. C. Wong. The editors desire publicly to acknowledge this service.

On the occasion of its twenty-fifth anniversary celebration, held in Bombay in December, 1932, the Indian Mathematical Society decided to issue in future two quarterlies in place of its Journal, roughly corresponding to Parts I and II of the Journal. The first of these will begin publication in 1934; in its place in 1933 will be issued the Jubilee Memorial Volume, containing an account of the Bombay Conference and the full text of the papers read there. The second quarterly, The Mathematics Student, has already begun publication, under the editorship of A. Narasinga Rao.

A Science Advisory Board, to cooperate with the National Research Council under the jurisdiction of the National Academy of Sciences, has been appointed by President Roosevelt to study problems of the various government departments with a view to improving coordination. President K. T. Compton, of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, has been made chairman.

Associate Professor E. L. Mackie, of the University of North Carolina, has been elected chairman of the mathematics section of the North Carolina Academy of Sciences, and Associate Professor E. R. C. Miles, of Duke University, secretary of that section.

Madras University has established a Ramanujan Memorial Prize for an essay or thesis embodying research in any field of mathematics by a person born or domiciled in India. Competition closes December 1, 1933.

The Veneroni prize of the University of Pavia has been awarded to Dr. Mario Villa, of that University.

Cambridge University has awarded its John Winbolt prize to P. A. Lamont, of Corpus Christi College, for a dissertation on *The stresses and deformations in retaining walls of triangular section*.

Louis de Broglie has been elected a member of the Paris Academy of Sciences in the section of mechanics.