NOTES

The Spring Meeting of the American Association for the Advancement of Science will be held at the University of Syracuse during the week of June 20–25. Section A (Mathematics) will meet on Wednesday, June 22, with addresses by Professor H. M. Gehman on Homeomorphic geometry of the projective plane, by Professor W. A. Hurwitz on Logical foundations for groups and fields, and by Professor J. Shohat on Interpolation. Professor W. B. Carver will deliver a general address before the Association on A layman's introduction to higher mathematics, and Professor E. R. Hedrick will participate in a symposium on general educational problems.

A new Chinese scientific journal has recently been founded, the Science Reports of the National Tsing Hua University, Peiping, Series A, Mathematical and Physical Sciences. The first two numbers are in English.

The Academy of Sciences of the Ukraine, Kief, has begun publication of two new journals, the Bulletin de la Classe des Sciences Naturelles et Techniques and the Journal du Cycle Mathématique.

The Yale Law Journal for March, 1932, contains an article on *The nature of the doctrinal function and its rôle in rational thought*, by Professor C. J. Keyser, of Columbia University.

The Comité International d'Histoire des Sciences will hold its fourth annual meeting in Paris, May 13-16, 1932.

Professors W. H. Bussey and G. C. Evans have been elected vice-presidents of the Mathematical Association of America, and Professors H. E. Buchanan, W. B. Ford, E. R. Hedrick, and W. R. Longley members of its Board of Trustees

The Belgian Academy has awarded its de Potter prizes, for the period 1928–1930, in astronomy and mathematics, respectively, to Professors Germay and Lepage.

The Scientific and Research Institute of Mathematics and Mechanics of the University of Moscow has awarded a prize of 750 roubles to L. S. Pontrjagin, member of that Institute, for his paper *Über stetige algebraische Körper*, recently published in the Annals of Mathematics, (2), vol. 33 (1932), pp. 163–174.

The British Institution of Electrical Engineers has awarded its Faraday medal to Sir Oliver Lodge.

Cambridge University has awarded Smith's prizes to D. W. Babbage, of Magdalene College, for an essay on *Cremona transformations*, and H. M. Taylor, of Clare College, for an essay on *The anomolous scattering of X-rays*, and Rayleigh prizes to J. Cossar, of Magdalene College, for an essay *On Fourier integrals*, and V. V. Narliker, noncollegiate, for an essay on *Cosmogony and astronomical dynamics*.

The gold medal of the Royal Astronomical Society has been awarded to Dr. R. G. Aitken, of the Lick Observatory, for his work on double stars.

Dr. Irving Langmuir, of the General Electric Company, has been awarded the prize of the Popular Science Monthly for notable scientific achievement.